Down-N-Dirty vs. Worth The Read

in #steemit8 years ago

Feel like Mario in Mario Cart while browsing Steemit.com and it's posts?

Behind the scenes I know I'm not the only person who is ....well... let's just say "disappointed with the fact" that majority of the time, good content tends to get pushed aside from these short and sometimes "hollow" posts which come flying into the network.

I truly understand the obstacles and reasons as to WHY Good posts can, and often do drift past the wayside.
Trust me, I've had my experiences, lol. Look through my Blog... you'll see.
I know I'm not the best writer in the bunch, far from it... but, instead of me complaining about the votes I've received, or lack thereof;
I wondered "What visually could be an ideal layout on Steem to remedy this so called noise while indirectly helping and promoting better content?".

To date, massive amounts of talented people within this community are posting their visions and versions of alternate Steemit website designs and layouts, and most look truly F'ing Amazing!!

The main concerns I have with most of these proposals though is they don't showoff possible "new organisational structures".
What I mean by that is this, they are taking Steem's existing structure and just shuffling it around (i.e. like the Trending, Hot, Active, New) and making them more "presentable" and pretty.

Don't get me wrong!!! There is ABSOLUTELY nothing wrong with this approach!
We need it!
And I up voted just about every single post that's come along with a decent concept.

But in my opinion the real systemic problem of Steem is the sheer Volume of Content being created, handled and displayed to the public!
It's like trying to read and analyze a Register Receipt that's spitting out at Mach 2, lol

Sure, we have Categories and yes we now have Reputation Points to aide us with the filtering process but, is it enough?

What I would like to see and enjoy is getting feedback of the following idea...

What if we had two "Main" columns on the Steem home page,
###1) Down-N-Dirty
###2) Worth the Read

...and once clicked and opened, each one then displays the standard filtering techniques that we normally are use to like Trending, Hot, New, etc., etc.

The only difference between Down-N-Dirty and Worth the Read (or whatever name gets adopted) is that each section filters the posts by its quantity.

Down-N-Dirty would filter posts which are a certain number of characters and less.
versus
Worth the Read which would be a certain number of characters and more.

This way we can give each reader the ability to choose whether they would prefer spending time reading short or long posts, with noise being "somewhat" pre-filtered by using this process.

Good idea?
Bad idea?

I'd like to hear what your thoughts and concerns would be!

Who knows? Maybe a whale might actual see, read and vote for this :)

Thanks everyone!

Peace

Sort:  

I like your idea, AJ.

But the titles you chose seem to me to be unnecessarily controversial.

I would prefer something along the lines of:

  1. "pithy and succinct"
  2. "more in depth"

Interesting idea. Yeah, I like it because sometimes people just want /r/funny or some short memes or quick reads while other times people want to dig in a little deeper. Eventually I imagine things will be a lot more like reddit where you spend time in your favorite category instead of drinking from the firehose.

@lukestokes LOL, liked the "drink from a firehose" blurb.
Don't get me wrong, I still think we should drink from the hose but, we just need to lower the pressure some!
And hopefully this type of approach could lower the pressure?
Thanks for your input my friend :)

It's from the movie UHF:

If you're in a really weird mood, it's an excellent movie. :)

LOL, holy shit that was priceless! Thanks for sending it!

If you like that, you'll love the whole movie. :)

That's a phrase I learned from the military too! "This course is like drinking water from a firehose.."

You have a good idea man!

Thanks @boddhisattva
I hope it garners some attention to the eyes and ears above!
Another nice side effect could be the increase in User Daily Time on Site.
I think @ned or @steemrolling posted Steem has gone up to 11 mins or so from 9.
Could this idea push this number up to, or past Reddit's 15 minute mark? I know it makes me wonder.

As you pointed out, too many posts is difficult to look for...
your idea is good, i think!

@koko Thanks my friend. Steem can be fatiguing at times :)

I dig that proposal. My very first post here was 11,000+ words long, and I do not think it got any love it deserved.

Thanks @michaelx
I feel ya. It's challenging putting forth good, quality content. You spend anywhere from 30 minutes to hours... days or even weeks putting a quality post together, just to get lost in the shuffle.
I think the key element behind this proposal is it puts the power back onto the reader to decide how they'd like to spend their time on Steemit. They won't have to speed read and speed vote if they don't feel like it.
It won't solve ALL the issues we have but, it certainly couldn't hurt.

More filtering options would be a great value compounder. People like their niches, their cliques and their communities. The current iteration of Steemit is like forcing everyone to subscribe and read /r/all to get to their post about stamp collecting or whatever niche they REALLY love.

Can you imagine having to flip through 40,000 random people to see the content of your friends on your facebook newsfeed? It doesn't work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83