STEEMIT IRON CHEF Round 8 ~ Cheesy Spaghetti with vegetables and a fruity touch + a Fruit-Mascarpone-Dream

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

This week I did something for this contest I usually wouldn't do: I bought fresh grapes in February! This time of the year grapes don't grow anywhere in Europe. I had the choice between grapes from India, South Africa and Namibia. Mine came from Namibia all the way up here into the still wintery Germany. I feel a little bit like I sold my soul to the devil ... 😜 Anyway, this is my contribution to this week's #steemit-ironchef contest hosted by the honorable @progressivechef. The theme of the week is - you guessed it right - grapes 🍇!

This was a little bit challenging, because I hardly ever cook with grapes. I only buy them, when the time is right for grapes and almost immediately shove them into my mouth and one bunch of grapes is past ... 

The obvious thing for me to make with grapes was a dessert. But because I always make something that will feed us well for dinner or sometimes lunch, I also wanted to make something hearty and filling too. And that's the result:

Everyone who would love to participate and would like to know about the rules can read about them in @progressivechef's original post here: STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 01 Round 08

The main ingredients I thought I would use spelt spaghetti, fennel, carrots, sundried tomatoes, grapes, oyster mushrooms, oat milk, soaked cashews, garlic, nutritional yeast and salt and pepper for the main course and grapes, sultanas, oranges, a pomegranate, crisp bread, soaked cashews, soy curd and ground vanilla for the dessert.

Preparation:

First I cut the carrots, the fennel and the sundried tomates in small cubes.

I cooked the carrots and the fennel in saltwater for a few minutes so they would be 'al dente'.

I prepared a cream, cheesey white sauce by mixing cashews (soaked in cold water for a few hours), nutritional yeast, a finely chopped glove of garlic, some oats milk and salt and pepper.

I cooked the spaghetti and fried the oyster mushrooms in a hot pan in the oil I drained from the sundried tomatoes, seasoned with salt and fresh ground pepper.

When the spaghetti were ready I mixed them the cheese sauce. 

I tasted and seasoned again and prepared the plate. I wind up the pasta with a fork and drizzled with the vegetables, the dried tomatoes and the halved grapes and added the fried mushrooms.

For the desert I prepared a fruit salad made of pomegranate seeds, two filleted oranges, dried sultanas and halved blue and green grapes.

I made a incredibly creamy and delicious plantbased Mascarpone by mixing some presoaked cashews with some soy tard and some ground vanilla, no additional sugar! The result was so satisfying! I was surprised myself  and very happy with this.

On the base of two whiskey jars I crumbled some crisp bread and covered this with a bit of the fruit salad followed by a layer of my Mascarpone and decorated with more fruit salad, a teaspoon full Mascarpone some crisp bread crumbs and lemon balm.

I am lenting sweets until easter but because I didn't add any additional sugar to my wonderful dessert didn't count as sweet and I enjoyed it so much! 🍧

I hope you liked my recipes. Thank you for popping in. Feel free to leave a comment. I am very happy about suggestions and your thoughts! ☀️

Sort:  

You got a 1.48% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @pusteblume!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Cooking local is what i love too...but sometimes we don't have the choice and have to adapt to imported ones! I love that you used the ones from Namibia though...I am from the African continent btw!! Hahaha!
As usual you delivered another wonderful entry...the way of plating the pasta is like michelin star chefs! Beautiful!

Africa, I know! I'll be close in two weeks. Close, but not close enough for a short visit Mauritius. We are going to visit a friends indian wedding in Nairobi/Kenia and after the wedding we all accompany the bride and the groom to Diani Beach for some days enjoying the sun and the Indian Ocean. The groom (kenian with gujaraty roots) is like a brother to me - brother from another mother. 😄
Thank you for your kind words!

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale & @ipromote team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-03-09-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

I know what you mean with showing the grapes in your mouth! I am the same :D

Amazing cooking as always!

Congratulations! That looks so good -- the spaghetti and the dessert both! I like seeing some oyster mushrooms, for sure. I couldn't figure out how to get grapes to go with mushrooms, but your dish looks great! I'm with you, through, on not wanting to buy produce from far away, out of season. Enjoy your local grapes, in simple form or in a big recipe, this summer!

Thank you! I definitely won't buy more grapes before summer. That's for sure! 😆

Yummmm, I love pasta, and this sounds gorgeous! That dessert is heavenly - wish you could send some here!! :D

NomNom ... looks and sounds like quite a showstopper of a dish !

Hehe! Thank you! Ate it all! 😋

You are so good cooking, all looks so yummy!

Aww, thank you, dear! It's so nice of you to say!

The pasta dish looks super fancy :) That said, I prefer enjoying grapes in the form of wine :P Good luck with the contest!

Hehehe! Actually I like the grapes in form of wine too ... The area where I live in Germany (Franconia) has a lot of very nice white wines and some red too. The best are the many wine festivals in and around Wuerzburg starting in late spring and the beautiful old bridge over the river. It became very popular during the last couple of years to meet on that bridge and chat and drink a glass of fresh franconian white wine (or two 😜) every time the weather is nice (or acceptable). It's a almost mediterranean atmosphere of life ... 🍷🍷

I think I found the bridge that you mentioned on the Internet :) It looks like a great spot for gazing the sunset and drinkin wine :) I have no experience with German wines, and I am not sure whether we import such, but I will look for the Franconian next time I am shopping for white wine.

Look for that special shaped bottle called "Bocksbeutel". Then you have found the right stuff.

Oki - doki :) Thank you!

looks so beautiful, main course and desert :) u did really well with the presentation, i would make such a mess with the pasta making it into those balls.

Don't ask me how my kitchen looked like ... 😝

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48