Steemit Iron chef Act 01 - Round 06. Lacón con Grelos

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

New week on steemit Iron chef!

And this time there is a big surprise, is the first time we have a “free” ingredient to base our reipe on.

As @progressivechef asked, we should be showing the world some local fruit or veggie, and make a nice dish with it.

What a great idea! I would love to discover new products from all over the world!! Even if it’s impossible for me to get them. Learning food culture is allways a pleasure.

_DSC5900.jpg

I thought for a while and finally decided to present to whom it may not know them…

Grelos

grelos-frescos.png
Source

(This time I forgot to take the picture of them before cooking)

I think there is not even an english translation for that, so I’m going to talk a little bit about them:

Grelos are a vegetable, are eaten mostly in the north-west part of spain (Galicia and Asturias) and north of Portugal.

For what I saw at Wikipedia, there are used in south Italy and some region of Germany also.

Well, as far as I’m concerned, is not a very known product. Even here in Madrid people doesn’t know what i’m talking about when I mention them.

planta-del-nabo.jpg
Source

The plant itself is the end of a kind of turnip which are collected before the floration. It has a light bitter flavour, and usually are eaten boiled.

It’s very present in a few typical galician dishes, beeing the main part of some of them. Galicia is where my mother is from, and since I’ve beeing eating grelos since my childhood, I really love them.

For this week I prepared Lacón con grelos, a very regional dish, only prepared in this part of Spain, It is a traditional food there, usually very roughly served.

But why not to give it a fancy twist? After all, this is SIC!

_DSC5897.jpg

Ingredients:

  • Grelos
  • Lacon
  • Potatoe
  • Chorizo


  • As usual, not a very complicated dish, but full of flavours. I enjoy it every single time I have it.

    Sooooooo good.

    _DSC5902.jpg

    The key is the quality of the ingredients.

    _DSC5908.jpg

    I hope you learned something new. If you know any place where people eats this vegetabe, I would love to know about it! Leave a comment!!

    _DSC5913.jpg

    Thanks again to @progressivechef for the efforts to made this great contest possible!! We will keep posting!!

    Steeeeemmmmmmmmm

    Sort:  

    That's great! Your Grelos is what I know as Wild Field Mustard, Brassica rapa. It's not native here in North America, but now is a widespread weed. It's amazing, but true -- this species was bred into Turnips, Rapini, and Napa Cabbage! So many different forms of the same species, just by maintaining the genetic selection. I forage a lot of wild field mustard. I tell people that finding one plant is like finding a $20 bill. There is so much of it that is good to cook with. It's wonderful!

    Your knoeledge about plants leaves me astonished... You know even more about them than me!! Hahaha I mostly know that I love them. But yes, I saw somewhere "brassica rapa" you got It!

    World of Photography Beta V1.0
    >Learn more here<

    You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

    Daily Stats
    Daily photos: 1/2
    Daily comments: 0/5
    Multiplier: 1.01
    Server time: 00:11:20
    Account Level: 0
    Total XP: 30.30/100.00
    Total Photos: 6
    Total comments: 0
    Total contest wins: 0
    When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

    Follow: @photocontests
    Join the Discord channel: click!
    Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
    Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
    Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
    Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

    Looks and sounds lovely .... I have seen them in Sitges where I lived in Northern Spain ... but must admit I never tried them ... now I wish I did ...maybe next time I go to Spain I will get the opportunity ...

    Congratulations @jorgegp! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

    Award for the number of comments

    Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
    For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

    If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

    Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

    Very cool to learn about the food that you grew up eating! I love the slightly bitter flavored greens too. I would really enjoy this dish. Thanks for sharing it.

    Yum this looks delicious!!! i also love posting about food/recipes :)

    Hmmm I am not sure if i've ever tasted these my friend! But I am so happy to discover 'grelos' thanks to you! This is what I wanted to see with this special round of SIC!
    The bitter taste you are explaining makes me think of the wild mustard greens that we usually enjoy a little bit same as yours!
    Lovely entry as usual and thanks so much for the little story behind it!
    Steem on!

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.35
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.039
    BTC 70310.43
    ETH 3568.34
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 4.73