Steemit-ironchef Round 13: Caviar Lentil Crepes w/ Indian spiced patties & wild flowers

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

lentil06.jpg

It's Friday 13th and here I am submitting my entry to the 13th round of #steemit-ironchef challenge hosted by @progressivechef! This week was to use Lentils, As many people know already I'm vegan and this is a staple in my kitchen, because they are filling, tasty and high in protein. Normally I don't really create anything special with Lentils, I just boil them in a pan with a little seasoning and eat them with whatever I'm having. But for this contest I really want to elevate this modest ingredient.

flowers.jpg

lentil.jpg

I spent a lot of time considering how I wanted to represent these wonderful little pulses. I was going to try a type of lentil I have never brought or tasted before, Caviar Lentils they sell them in my local health food and vegetable store so I had to try them, they are a little more expensive one reason I haven't gravitated towards them before but for a special occasion it's a must have. They are small black and really striking, unfortunately I was a bit sad that a lot of the black color is washed away, never the less you can still see they are darker than normal brown lentils. I also used them to make mini crepes by grinding the lentils and simply making a batter.

Lentil.gif

To accompany the crepes I shaped the Indian patties into triangles with a cookie cutter, I also fried them into round shapes just in case the triangles didn't fit right. The patties were set on top of a spicy red pepper dip and topped with red lentils and the caviar lentils. Lastly decorated with all the beautiful wild flowers that are blooming in my area, I really wanted to show case these to bring all the vibrancy of spring into the kitchen, after all it was a grey skies today so these totally lifted the mood. There were quite a lot of elements to the over all dish and took me all the day to prep and finish, but i'm pretty happy with the visual results and most importantly these taste divine!

lentil02.jpg

Ingredients

Crepes

Caviar lentils ground into flour
1/4 tsp Himalaya Salt
Spring water to make batter
1/2 tsp Baking powder

Spicy Dip

Red Lentils
Red Pepper
Tomato
Sesame seeds
hot pepper
Olive oil
dash of Himalaya salt

Indian Spiced Patties

Chickpea
Celery
Spring onion
Cloves
Cardamon
Coriander
Organic korma powder
Black pepper
Dash of Himalaya salt
Chia egg (chia seeds and spring water)

lentil03.jpg

lentil04.jpg


Thank you steemians for checking out and supporting my entry to the contest and thank you to...


@progessivechef @steemit-ironchef and the sponsors @canadian-coconut, @donkeypong , @trophytokens , @voiceshares and @bambam808 for their support to Steemit-Ironchef

ecotrainbanner.png

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

🥑 🍎🥝 🍉 🍇 🍐🍓🍈🍋🍑 🍍🍊🍌🍏

For more health and diet tips, check out @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet 🌱 can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revolution now

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

Oh yummy! 😍 This is making me hungry, I'm not going to lie... I should get cooking. Thank you for demonstrating a new way to use lentils. 😋

Thanks for your lovely comment. They were unbelievably tasty, I'm hungry just taking about them. Had the left overs in my lunch sandwich today :) _

@celestialcow best of luck with the competition! your photo's are great really like the use of wildflowers any ingredients in the background. Made a note of the ingredients for those Indian spiced patties never thought of making a side like that 👍

:) im Glad I inspired u to try a new Recipe. They were seriously gd!

Oh my these look amazing! Beautiful food, pics, and presentation! Good luck!

Wow that looks amazing! Great contribution <3

looks so beautiful

Omg, this looks so good and tasty!! You are the master in presenting your food like a piece of art!

I learn from master chefs like yourself :)

Haha, so sweet!!;)

You can definitely tell the care and time you put into that meal! Bravo for sure! I would be happy to order that in any restaurant.

Haha how much is it worth? Extra charge for time taken to pick the flowers ;) lol

YUM, these look delicious. I love lentils, and I especially love lentils with Indian spices. I love how you took something so simple and have elevated it into a dish that looks like it tastes absolutely heavenly!

Thank you for your lovely comment :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestialcow from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Speechless. Upvote. Resteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14