How has Steem impacted my life?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemimpact4 years ago (edited)

July 2016 a colleague of mine told me about this amazing project called Steem, a blockchain project on which one can earn cryptocurrency. What is more, he did a post over the weekend and earned the magnicient amount of $2396. Yup, that is two months salary for an average South African ...Article Here

Now being a crypto geek I jumped in with both feet ... and landed probably on my face. Three months went by without earning more than a few cents. I thought I was witty, funny and unique but the community did not think so... and as I started spending more time reading the more successful contributors ... some that spring to mind are @sweetjss, @heidi, @kingscrown, @jacor and @gavett ... I noticed how well formatted there blogs were..also the quality of their photo's ..

Now as an old fart I was rather averse to learning new skills ... but realized that I needed to up my game. So I learnt more about formatting my posts... a new skill albeit a small one.

I took some dismal photographs ... then signed up at UCT for a photography course... a new, fascinating skill which has brought me so much pleasure ever since... thank you Steemit.

I started engaging more with people from all walks of life and all different countries.. too many to mention individually but with some the bonds are still strong. Finally after blogging and curating daily for over three months I finally got a reward.... my very first cente... but not a cent... a few thousand cents for an article titled A Less privileged white growing up in South Africa in the 1970's

I was up and running !!

Three and a half years on I have done almost 4000 posts, have almost 2000 followers, still only earn cents ... but that no longer bothers me.

I have found an outlet to be myself, I have learnt so much more about my country (nature and Travel series), about my passion for cooking (Dining Out and In the Kitchen' series), my absolute first love Music (Music Legends series) and heaps more ad hoc and silly posts which I call 'non-value add'. I believe I have grown as an individual with this new blogging activity. I no longer look at the bottom line

Thanks Dan and Ned .... I have recently retired and I can tell you there is not a bored moment in my day... thanks to Steem and the new skills and interest it brought intro my life !!

Namaste

Sort:  

Edited to correct the number of posts I put 400...is actually 4000

Have you shared this post on some social media platform maybe? Kindly drop a comment with the link if you 've done so. Cheers

I sjated it on Twitter. Not sure how to show the link...
How has Steem impacted my life? — Steemit https://t.co/4O8uX2jWZD

Forgot to add the #steemit tag.....

Handle @ismikle

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75