SteemFest has Made it Much Easier to Convince People that Crypto is CoolsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfest7 years ago (edited)

Tonight, I signed up two new Steemians. Please welcome @c4pta1ntr1ps and @paulestrem. I've been telling @c4pta1ntr1ps about Steemit ever since I signed up in August. I've told him at least 10 times that he should quickly sign up for an account and get his free Steem and start checking it out.

Tonight we were chillin and it came up again except that I was like "yeah, I got paid to go to Amsterdam to SteemFest and we all met and had a big party and talked about Steemit and Steem" I also said the other things that I always say - that Steem is a cryptocurrency like Bitcoin and because of Steemit I now own some Bticoin, but while I was saying that, both my friends signed up for accounts.

I'm not sure if it's because I said SteemFest or Amsterdam or that I got to paid to do it all, but for some reason tonight the point came across even though it was the same thing I've been telling my friends for months. Tonight they signed up and I think the mention of SteemFest really brought it to another level to show that Steem is real money and Steemit is cool.

Crypto and Steemit have always been cool, but now that we've had SteemFest and cryptos aren't just for miners and speculators but also for anyone into social media like facebook, reddit, and instagram, which is almost everyone these days. Steemit has made crypto cool for a whole new crowd.

Everyone knows Bitcoin is cool. It's kind of the name drop you do as you begin to talk about Steemit."It's a social media platform that is incentivised through a cryptocurrency called Steem. Steem is a cryptocurrency like Bitcoin and now I own some Bitcoin because I traded some Steem for Bitcoin."

Honestly, I had said all that stuff before though. What has made it cool is SteemFest. We have begun to use a cryptocurrency for a true social network. A social network so cool that we met up in Amsterdam and had a big party that was pretty much like the coolest thing to happen in crypto since Bitcoin.

If you're still having trouble convincing some people to try Steemit, just start to talk a little bit about SteemFest and what it was all about and apparently bam, they sign up.

I don't know it could be because we drank a couple good IPA's and I was particularly charming but I would put my money on SteemFest. Anyway, this is probably pretty obvious to all of you. SteemFest was the coolest thing ever.. Duh! But I think we are going to be talking about it until the next one happens.

Also, I am thinking about having a Steemit Meetup in Austin, TX. If you live in Texas or near by and would be interested, please let me know in the comments.

Sort:  

sorry for the late upvote on this. Missed out on your post :) Amsterdam was a great firestarter!

I love getting the late comment! It was absolutely incredible!

Once I heard you went to Amsterdam for a Steemit event; I was like "o, he's really serious about this, I need to sign up and see what it's all about". So you also got me to sign up! I am so confused though (Steem Power, Resteem??) and want to hear more about it over Thanksgiving!

I noticed your account! I was like "what?" @thundercricket must have told her about Lindsey and me going to SteemFest! I will happily talk your ear off about it! Resteeming is just kind of like when you share a post on facebook. It will add the post to your blog so all your followers will see it. It doesn't really help you, but you can help other steemians or just help promote stuff you like by resteeming. Steem Power is basically your Steem that you have powered up by committing to hold it for 3 months before cashing it it out but while you're holding it, it makes your upvotes worth more money. People with lots of Steem Power can upvote your account and make it worth a lot more money. When "Whales" upvote, especially multiple whales, posts can become worth hundreds or thousands of dollars!

I'm glad I signed up. I think the IPA's had something to do with persuasion. But after finding out about a highly active community. I'm more then happy to have joined the fun. Thanks for the great experience @richardcrill

Haha, You're welcome! Glad to see you on here!

We have had a couple up here, but may be inspired to do it again. Would love to hear how that goes for you @richardcrill.

I remember seeing one of them, but I had prior engagements. How big of a turnout did yall have?

We held them at festivals we were working so we kind of hand a captive audience. We feel it could have been even more successful had we advertised more. We has discussed a once a week coffee shop meetup to keep the ball rolling, and once people got on they could bring their friends, learn even more, support each other and build a local community. After meeting the people at Steemfest I can feel how valuable it would be to attract that caliber of interest. Let me know how it work out for you.

hmmm, that's a good idea. I will let you know. I'm just gauging interest for now. But I can imagine an awesome meetup here and I think there are a few more Steemians in this neck of the woods.

I wouldn't be surprised if Austin had more than Arlington or even the DFW area. Sending you lots of good mojo for a powerful experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70