Lessons from a Norwegian underwear model en route home from SF3

in #steemfest5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Lessons from a Norwegian underwear model en route home from SF3


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

I'm not an underwear model, nor attractive, nor female... but I was a photographer in a past life and worked with hundreds of models, and I think from their stories that you're both right and wrong. Super attractive people tend not to get attention from the right people, because they don't seem approachable.. but they get so much (so much!) attention from the wrong people... it legitimately sounds exhausting and honestly, a little scary at times.

I personally noticed that both male and females that were insanely gorgeous by conventional measures often didn't make excellent photographic subjects, because they were generally a little too guarded. I honestly preferred working with people that society would deem 'cute' that would work really hard to get that perfect image. To be a great model, you more have to play a character... being stunning just isn't quite enough.

One thing that I like about Steem in particular is the general preference towards quality instead of churn. Those with significant autovotes are in an entirely different category, of course, but for the rest of us, we often see way more interaction from the posts that we put really good effort into more than the collective effort of non-great posts. Or, that's my experience anyway...

That's interesting to hear! It does sound exhausting.

Maybe it was just the particular modelling circles she moved in. Sounds like her experience wasn't representative!

I was just happy for the conversation tbh!

The interaction I get on here is superb!

Posted using Partiko Android

This is probably the only post I have seen on Steem where puns and double-entendres are surplus to requirement when discussing the onboarding of underwear models. lol

As far as Steem blogging being like modelling goes - for sure, I post to the #witnessesInThongs tag all the time :)

But they so were necessary (the puns). Had I not written it on a coach I would've got more into that, but the jolting amd mobile texh combo was too much.

Witnesses in thongs - I'll have to look out for that!

Posted using Partiko Android

and there we were on the bus talking about the diminishing chance of a hookup when getting older and you turn around and land with an underwear model

LOL! Certainly the most clickbait pic I’ve seen on Steem for a while!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It seemed silly to waste the opportunity. TBH half the reason I wrote is was 'cos I didn't want to waste the title.

And it gave me something light to write about on the coach the following day@

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha... but a hook up was never on the cards here. Still, at least when she mentioned 'her boyfriend' it was just factual rather than in a 'warning off' manner.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love your harnessing the power of clickbait lol

The surprising similarities between blogging and modelling

You just managed to draw comparisons between yourself and a Norweigan underwear model and kept a straight face?
Thats bloody impressive fella ;-)
Looking forward to the Steemfest posts :-)

Cheers... we agreed there were similarities!

Posted using Partiko Android

A Norwegian undies model?!? Damn! Lucky bastard! I get Rock Quarry Hank from Chicago, or Father Phillips who wants me to repent next to me on my flights. Super jealous!!! Glad ya made it back in one piece. Awesome meeting ya brother!

There's a link in my last post.. trust me !

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh I saw. Followed already. LOL

I'm glad this post ended up being written!

I see at least 3 great titles in here

Attempting to on-board a Norwegian underwear model

Being my favourite and should have been the title!

Anyway, my reluctance to start a convo got me thinking whether insanely attractive people get less social attention than more ordinary looking people - I've heard about this before... blokes leaving 'too attractive' women alone just because they don't have a chance.

I think this is a thing, beer helps, or a solid 'in' like a book you've read in someones hands.

who was sitting in the seat next to me for most of the rest of the flight.

most of the rest of the flight? More details here please!

Yes maybe that would've been better as a title. But the one I"ve got is honest... I quite like the tone of it.

I actually really enjoyed writing it.
However after 2 hrs of fiddling about with WP on the ipad bouncing around on a coach I was feeling a bit road sick so the old mental faculties were a bit shot, so yes 'the rest of the flight' - she may have hoped it was not 'all' but I know I've at least got her one new insta fllwr.

But noted - titling and self branding are top of the list for improving!

It was fantastic to meet you in person Asher. You should drop by @coruscate's steemmonsters show later - kicks off with a SF3 recap.

Cheers!

Karl.

Posted using Partiko Android

Cheers for the heads-up on the show, it's 1:30 am though so I'm not sure if i'll last - could have a nap first I guess.

I wish I had more time talking with you, and hope more sociology of Steemfest comes out in future posts :)

I was thinking earlier about who introduced me to the most people at the event, and wondered if i'd actually done that to anyone (maybe once). And I was contemplating what the a fore mention character traits of these people guiding people around and opening conversations for others?

I appreciate them and think they are important to have at these events. Any thoughts?

Hilarious as always. And it proves that boobs and great titles win upvotes lol. Then again it is very likely just the beard. You know that somewhere a Norwegian underwear model is gushing about this guy she met on the plane with a fabulous beard, right? Love to this posted and you x

Posted using Partiko Android

it's very rare that you meet very attractive people that have anything close to a pleasant personality. they get social interactions for free and don't ever have to try.That means any personality they do have tends to be very focused on themselves. I was a very pretty kid and got whatever I wanted. Just a flutter of the eyelashes and it was mine. adults were like putty, mouldable suckers. Adulthood was a shocker as I did not retain that "prettiness" and just became another ordinary rough as fuck male. man alive was I pissed I couldn't get my own way any more. Took years to change and develop into something that wasn't vaguely related to a complete asshole.

Haha, I guess everbody was looking for more pictures.

Anyway, this is a good read @revisesociology and I like that you compare both worlds.

It was great to meet you during SteemFest to have a few beers

Cheers! Great meeting you too!

I might well just join in with the occasional beer saturday post - probably from my alt account @self-track.... I want to keep this one analytical.

Once I've had me a little detox for a week or so at least!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87