Satanist at steemfeststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfest6 years ago (edited)



The last two days I enjoyed watching steemfest 2 on youtube, sometimes live, sometimes recordings. I watched the “Mighty Quinn“, @quinneaker, with a very unique talk.
I really liked that it was so very different from all those slick blockchain talks.
Watch it and you will see what I mean.
As a member of @ecotrain I read and upvote almost all of his posts, sometimes comment and he replies, so it was nice to watch his steemfest presentation to get to know more about him as a human being.

Quinn starts at 9:44



I also stumbled across a talk to which I was lured by the motto on the screen at the beginning which said: Inciting subversion of state power. That´s gonna be good, I thought, but then, pretty soon, the woman giving the talk outed herself as a member of The Satanic Temple! WTF? Just the word satanic made me gringe, but after my initial shock I continued watching and learned (also by visiting their website) that these people use satanism as a shock element in their performance art and direct action to oppose crazy stuff based on Christian fundamentalism, like corporal punishment in schools or anti-abortion protests and are not into child sacrifice and shit.

It has always baffled me, how in the US, with all its bright minds in science, technology, arts, philosophy, etc., Christian fundamentalism can be so strong. Looking at loonies like Westboro Baptist Church I can´t stop laughing, but if you know that Christian fundamentalists have attacked and even killed doctors who performed abortions, Christian fundamentalism, like any religious fundamentalism, suddenly is not so funny anymore.

I think, The Satanic Temple has found quite a clever way to play with the mechanisms of the 5 second attention span click bait sucker media hype reality of our time and seem to adhere to a discipline which has become rare, critical thinking by rational minds.
So I found this presentation very interesting and encourage you to give it a try.

Starting at 25:00


source of top picture




For more great posts checkout the amazing talents all stuck in one @ecotrain 😎

Sort:  

I was also clustered to Steemfest live, was like being there, great event.

And thanks to you I knew about it and could watch the Mighty Quinn and loads of other intersting stuff. 😘

I'm not into Satanism even for shock effect. Fundamentalism and literal interpretation is wrong - in all religions.

Just the word seems creepy - I agree with you there.

I completely agree with @ecoinstant and yes the word satanic makes me cringe too. I am trying to watch the videos but the internet connection is poor I guess so they have trouble loading.

just reading the word satanic converted me. but at least now i have stopped beating my children.

Good man! 😊

Good job! Thanks to @ecoinstant you have planted 0.05 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14278.22. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81