The Post Mortem... The Convergence is in full swing

in #steemfest7 years ago

So, I have been cloistered the last 24 hours in the Amigo Hotel, where several steemfestians have set up camp for now. Mostly fellow hobos, although unlike me they mostly like to say "Digital nomads"

Well, we are all hobos, hobo is the name for the resourceful, work seeking misfits who searched for work in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, wandering about, walking, biking, jumping trains and sometimes traveling by working on boats to other places.

I have, despite my sadly depleted vote power, been doing a lot of reading and curating today, because I am really not up to much else now, and I have to rest 5 minutes every time I ascend to my room at the top of the hotel.

I don't know exactly in which way the criteria of those who came to SteemFEST differs from the gen pop of Steem, but I can't help feeling it is mostly random and that all the people I met are representative of you all out there who couldn't come.

The Convergence

Since I am not sure when, but a long time before I started to give it a name sometime late last year, I have had this idea that the "good people" would eventually gather, connect and form the kernel of a new, post-terrestrial society.

I don't believe Joe Public out there could cope with much more than the info sphere we already have...

But then, 50 billion connected people???

It takes certain characteristics, that are uncommon.

Those who possess this are thick in our midst.


We can't stop here! This is Whale country!

Loki was born in Australia, now is wandering Amsterdam again after 9 months in Sofia, Bulgaria. IT generalist, physics theorist, futurist and cyber-agorist. Loki's life mission is to establish a secure, distributed layer atop the internet, and enable space migration, preferably while living in a beautiful mountain house somewhere with a good woman, and lots of farm animals and gardens, where he can also go hunting and camping.

I'm a thoughtocaster, a conundrummer in a band called Life Puzzler. I've flipped more lids than a monkey in a soup kitchen, of the mind. - Xavier, Renegade Angel

*

All images in the above post are either original from me, or taken from Google Image Search, filtered for the right of reuse and modification, and either hotlinked directly, or altered by me

Sort:  

I have had similar thoughts. I definitely feel like the Steemit population consists of many different versions of myself. Great meeting you!

what a great way of putting it @andrarchy
I wasn't there but I love the group photo...and not at all surprised by the mix of men to women and the various age groups represented. I really think we have something special here.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.42 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 15 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10