For Those Who Like To Get Lifted During Steem Fest. Best Weed Spots in Amsterdam IMHO ᵔᴥᵔ

in #steemfest7 years ago (edited)

Amsterdam needs no introduction when it comes to weed. You can get it anywhere in the city centre. The biggest problem for people who never visited Amsterdam might be to figure out which shops to go to. Well, that's why I put together a small list of shops that are my all time favourites. I used to be a frequent smoker but the last 7 years I cut down drastically due to work, becoming a father and not liking the fact that I went to the kitchen then forgot what it was I was about to do in the kitchen...

De Tweede Kamer

My first and foremost favourite shop is 'De Tweede Kamer'. They have an excellent and really diverse menu. Especially their hashish is mind blowing. My choice is always 'Noor' wich goes for about €14,- per gramme. They also have a selection that's called 'Waterworks'. back in the days, this was off menu order since it's for experienced smokers only. Prices go up to €60,- per gramme. I only tried the €24,- per gramme version which is real damn good hashish. I suggest to use a vaporiser or figure out a way to freebase it; the taste is extraordinary.


Image Credit


With hashish you want it to be smooth like Playdoh. Personally, I prefer the darker ones in terms of taste. It's a bit more sharp and herb like. The lighter more sand coloured ones are more soft, sweet and puffy tasting.

De Dampkring

The second one is 'De Dampkring'. (nearby De Tweede Kamer) if you like Lord of the Rings and want to have the feeling you're in a fantasy land this is the place to go. If you can, go early cause it gets crowded. This is the place if you want quality haze; sit back and take a trip through space. Fun fact; De Dampkring is the shop where they shot a scene for Oceans Eleven.


Image Credit

One street behind De Dampkring One street behind De Dampkring is one of the best Belgian Fries places (in Amsterdam) Excelent Munchie! Watch out for the piggeons; they poop all over you. Such a buzz kill.


Image Credit

Green House

Last but not least Green House. This shop has won several Cannabis Cups and this is the place that introduced me to Super Silver Haze. Due to their reputation, they get the critique that they are overpriced. But these guys have been in the business for quite some time and really know their product. Their interior is not that mind blowing but, they are located next to the Waterlooplein market. And if you get the munchies go and try the soups at Soup en Zo. Oh laarddd!

Fun fact; most likely during the cannabis cup in 1999 Snoop Dogg passed out in the Greenhouse. He was put back to earth with Sprite and peanut M&M's. I read this back in 2001 in 'The Source' a hip hop magazine that did an article on Amsterdam cannabis culture. Unfortunately I threw them all out.

This is Snoop Dog in an Amsterdam Ajax shirt Image Credit

Current Dutch Cannabis Situation

Nowadays I feel like The Netherlands are way behind in terms of cannabis research compared to the US. This documentary shows clearly what it is we can still research in terms of this complex plant. It's in Dutch but has subs, bottom right corner.


I hope this post can help those who want to try some Amsterdam greens. Please don't use too much as it might ruin your experience! Sometimes less is actually more. See you all at Steemfest! 


Sort:  

Good lookin' out!

Your welcome!

Nice! Thanks for posting this. I was thinking about writing an article like this myself as I have been researching it, but I have only personally been to a few of the coffeeshops. I liked greenhouse. I will have to check out the others you mentioned. I'm surprised the list seemed a little short. Living in Amsterdam, I figure you've been to most of them. Any honorable mentions?

There are a few others that I went to, but that's been a while. Could'nt say what they are up to now. In a way this post is the honourable mention :D

great !!! I hope I got enough time to check them all out !

Thnx! Well perhaps I should become some sort of a middle man...? What kind of stuff you like to smoke?

That's funny . I catch you on that but I might have to stay smokefree :)

It all depends on your mood, mindset and the balance of serotonin / melatonin :D

Hahaa I will get back to you on this :) can I also buy some sunshine and less cold air ?!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19