Today I Learned (TIL) That I Could Have Shipped Myself In A Box To SteemFest

in #steemfest7 years ago

Have you ever thought it might be easier to ship yourself somewhere in a box instead of booking a flight?  Well this might be a good guide for those of you thinking about saving some money on your next vacation.  Sam Pepper is a YouTuber originally from the United Kingdom.  He initially gained fame by being on Big Brother UK and then became a YouTube Prankster.  As the majority of top YouTube pranksters were making clearly fake / staged pranks Sam felt he had to make fake videos as well to keep up.  Eventually as more and more pranksters were getting "Exposed" for making fake pranks Sam came clean and posted a video about how his stuff was staged.  He actually removed all this previous videos from YouTube and started fresh.   

For awhile he was sort of hated among the YouTube community but recently he is regaining respect for making real stuff that is ballsy and entertaining.  He recently stayed overnight at the zoo, slept overnight in Costco, and now he shipped himself via FedEx in a box.  

I had many worries about what could happen during this experiment.  

1) He could be dropped on his head.  

2) He could be stacked under a bunch of other boxes and suffocated.  

3) He could have been ran through and X-Ray and they would have seen there was a human skeleton inside and thought it was a dead body.

4) Someone could have cut open the box to check what was inside and cut his head or his eyeball wide open.  

5) He could have been run over by a forklift or other equipment.  

The risk were many but the travel possibilities are endless!  Find out what happens to Sam in this entertaining video.  Props to him for making this video. The look on his face was priceless.  

me-holding-steemitsign-grey-at407c2.png

Sort:  

Thought about this before. So we could have all been shipped to SteemFest! (maybe next year?)
Shared on twitter

Yeah I'm thinking that if Steemfest is far away again I will pony up the money to be shipped Freight so that I will be on a pallet and will most likely stay right side up for the journey. A person could really do a lot with a big freight box like this. We can all come in on pallets next year and we will already have a free hotel room as well!

Steemfest portable hotel rooms!
Same more & box with a buddy!

You could even create a wireless hotspot on your phone and your Box Buddy could get on the Internet too!

ROFLMAO - you guys are frightening!
But I have to admit it's one of those things I thought about when I was a kid.
I think my biggest issue would be oxygen. Cargo planes fly pretty high and the air's pretty thin up there.

Yeah Oxygen would be a problem especially if the cabin wasn't pressurized. There was some kid who road in the wheel well of a passenger jet that flew to Hawaii. Somehow he lived. I think he passed out from the lack of oxygen. I'm sure he slept tight all the way there. Hahahhaha

Steem_Land Steemland.com tweeted @ 30 Nov 2016 - 00:28 UTC

Today I Learned (TIL) That I Could Have Shipped Myself In A Box To SteemFest

steemit.com/steemfest/@bri… / https://t.co/ReX4FWkdem

@SteemUps @SteemitPosts @steemit

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

One word....C.L.A.U.S.T.R.O.P.H.O.B.I.A.!!!!!! and YES....dangerous!! lol

It would have been terrible in there. I would have cut an air / peep hole that I could then cover back up with tape. Very entertaining though. There has been a ton of people making paper towel forts and staying all night in Wal-Mart, Target, Costco...etc but shipping yourself somewhere is on a whole new level.

I used to work at a grocery store years ago, and thought about hiding in pallets of paper towels so that I could come out at night and raid the candy aisle. I probably would have drank a lot of beer, too. Again, this was an idea I had many years ago. I have grown up a bit!

I had some friends who were on a big road trip and they tried to stay all night in a wal-mart on some dog beds. But they said it was impossible to sleep because there were workers all around stocking the shelves. Hahha.

There is a big outdoors store in Iowa City called Fin 'N' Feather. They have a bunch of tents set up for display. I wonder if they open them and check them every night before they close.

Wasn't there a movie where a homeless girl slept in a WalMart every night? I think it was Natalie Portman, but I don't recall the movie title.

Seriously? People have done those things? That's hysterical. Where have I been to not know these great stories? lol....Thanks for telling a happy funny story today.

It could've ended worse:

Yeah that would have been bad.

That's one scary way to travel. No travel insurance for that. :-)

Haha, that video! And you are right, his expression is priceless. But that seems very dangerous!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30