Meditation Contest #1 "Smell the Roses"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemfam6 years ago

received_10215449017956606.jpeg

Wait, @riverflows ... thats so not a photo of a rose!!! Are you breaking rules again?

12298912_1659684044287893_888969821_n.jpg

I am never going to stop and smell roses. That's a given. It seems like a really girly thing to do, and I've never been that. If I say ‘ooh, love your roses’, I’m probably just being polite. Give me a grevillea any day, that strangely alien Australian flower, as variable as a rose.

29715223_136291300431376_1771888397187547136_n.jpg

Yet, this English idiom means that we should stop and appreciate life, to slow down and observe the wonderful things we do have. It’s an idiom for the times we realise things have been going a little off track, too fast, chaotic. Mindfulness meditation can help us do just that – to bring us to a state of awareness of the roses, the sky, the changing of the seasons, the beauty of nature. Awareness of nature can allow us to understand the self a little better, as part of a greater field of existence rather than tiny lives wrapped up in dramas, anxieties and stresses. However, it’s a great idiom, because we know it doesn’t necessarily mean ‘stick your nose in a rose’ but to look around you and see what we have.

15034722_410269216029550_8853055777590476800_n.jpg

This meditation competition is my first entry in a competition on Steemit and it’s one close to my heart – I do flick through most contests and think ‘meh’, because I’m not a competitive person, but I had some things to say for this one so I thought: ‘why not?’. Maybe you’ll get something out of it too.

@ground2feet’s invitation is about ‘getting present to your life. Your surroundings, specifically’ because we’re often ‘working mostly on autopilot checking the price of steem, or just in our head about our problems. Meanwhile, nature is happening all around us and is often going unnoticed’. @ground2feet invited us to stop and smell the roses, thinking about Spring in the air in the Northern Hemisphere and it’s invitation to notice the beauty of the world. Of course, in the comments section some of us were quick to point out that we aren’t all experiencing Spring, but could we play anyway?

@angelacs suggested this:

Just take a walk as explained in rules and post, enjoy and allow Nature to call to you and reveal Herself to you. Experience the fullness of that intimate moment, take a picture afterwards of the beautiful aspect of Nature that triggered your experience and then share it all in your entry post.

I was really triggered by the line ‘experience the fullness of that intimate moment’, and was inspired to talk about the intimacy of an experience in nature I had this week. I guess I should say that I can’t take ‘smell the roses’ literally and took it to mean ‘experience Nature with awareness’ – not to say I haven’t LOVED the beautiful spring inspired photographs shared by fellow Steemians!

Although we’re experiencing Autumn (or Fall) in the southern hemisphere, it’s the parallel to Spring – a transition time where we notice the change in the air and greet it with both excitement and sadness as things change. It’s in that spirit – of things changing – that I’ve been struggling these past few weeks, and stopping to be aware of nature in meditative, conscious awareness is what’s brought me through in a really powerful way. In fact without this walking meditation of sorts, I would be in a big puddle of grief and thoughts of my own suffering.

28429034_175444853103516_4803875857779130368_n.jpg

Some of you may have already read about Dad's cancer. It has really rattled us all as he is a vibrant, healthy man and we arent ready to lose him yet. I mean, I am fairly equanomous about it in some ways as I know he cant live forever, but he is a super young 70 and I do yoga and surfing with him a lot and I am so close to him. So when I heard I was trying to be rational and calm and positive but on the inside I was howling. My chest felt gripped by grief, its talons tearing at me. I knew I had to FEEL this but it was so painful the temptation was to self medicate with wine and run from the beast, you know?

So hear is where the walking nature meditation comes in. I walked the whole length of Point Addis beach with the sun on my skin and the cool sea on my toes. I watched the waves and the clouds and the blue blue skies as I held Dad's love close and breathed and breathed nd focussed on the beauty of the world. And there it was, a revelatory moment where I entered this eternal field of awareness. No longer was I a single grieving entity, but a breathing alive part of the world that breathed with me. The plants on the cliff grew from tiny sunbaked seeds to wizened wind whipped trees. The waves grew out at sea and journeyed through the water to land on the shore and dissipate. The wind swept from north to south and left. The gulls burst from eggs and hunted fish and died, their skeletons fertilising the earth. My father once, as a young man, surfed on this beach and had a daughter who grew to love the sea as much as he did, and would one day grow old and die as her son walked on the beach and grieved her. For now, there was breath and the beauty of the world and the perfect awareness of that.

15538159_616572351862805_7372104277440856064_n.jpg

So there I was, smelling the roses. Smelling the salt air and seaweed and feeling the sensations of feeling pass through me in a beautiful lesson in impermanence. In that moment I felt so grateful for my meditative practice and nature itself for getting me through.

The talon that gripped my heart loosened, and let go.

Thanks so much @ground2feet for this opportunity to write about my experience. Its certainly a full and intimate moment, and even writing about it is a meditative catharsis. I know you said to stay fun and light hearted.. I really did feel 'light of heart' after this experience but I am not quite sure if it's fun! Maybe y'all were entertained by reading it...!

It is morning here in Australia, and I am going out walking. May you breath in the beauty of the world, wherever you are.

20180330_111349.jpg

Sort:  

I am so sorry to hear about your dad. We are losing so many good people to this dreadful disease. I am glad walking meditation helped you to see things in a different perspective. Let's hope he recovers and will be surfing and doing yoga with you in no time. Big hug xxx btw love that flower. Never seen anything like it!

Thanks so much Amy. We are hoping he will pull through. It's going to be a tough few months. Really appreciate your comment and taking the time to read and respond thoughtfully. Cancer is a whole new ball game for me - I've never experienced anyone I know have it at all, until last year when my son's girlfriend's Dad had a really brief illness and died from it. That was pretty upsetting for everyone and it was really young to lose a Dad. I feel lucky I've had a really good long relationship with him. It's never easy to let people go though.

Grevillea is an amazing plant - there are thousands of different sorts, all different shapes and sizes and colours. They're quite alien looking, aren't they? Check them out on google - you'll be blown away!

They are beautiful indeed. Will check it out. I'll cross my fingers for you. I had a friend and aunt who survived cancer and my dad-in-law and another friend who lost the battle so everything is possible xxx

Thanks heaps. Yeah there are sad stories and lucky ones. Whatever the outcome, its still nice to be embraced with peoples well wishes. 💗💗💗

Maybe you could look into curcumin liquid extracts. My friend used it daily when he was fighting cancer. I have heard many good things about it.

Ah, this is amazing stuff. My folks are already on that one. It's anti inflammatory. We use it all the time instead of conventional anti inflammatories. Thanks!

This was so beautifully written. I could feel your heart lightening in the way you wrote it! You painted such a vibrant picture with your words. We are all interconnected. This beautiful existence is such a blessing and it's tragic how many waste away not being aware of the present,but rather stuck in regret of the past, or letting worry of the future steal the present. Good for you, letting yourself feel that grief, giving it the attention needed. Sending you love & light.

Btw, have you heard of apricot kernels? We had a friend who credited them with curing her cancer. I haven't researched myself, but just heard about it today, so felt like I was supposed to share.

Wow, sometimes those co-incidences are worth sharing. I guess there's lots of home remedies that can help heal a body. At the moment, it's so aggressive that Dad and Mum are really relying on a great team of doctors, but I reckon once the worst of it is over, they'll be all over alternative support for his system. We'll look into it for sure. Thanks so much for your appreciation and kind words!

sorry to hear about your dad. I will pray for him and all of you as well. God bless

Thanks ever so much for your kind words xxxxx

WOOOOOOOOOOW! I am blown away by your post and you are such an amazing spirit it shines through your words! You had a lot of fun I can tell and you so got the purpose behind this contest! Thank-you for all your efforts. I also am sending you and your father love and light in my meditations! May he find a way to health!
Do I need to even say it???
YOU WIN YOU WIN YOU WIN!!!

Oh my god really!! That's my first steem contest and it' didn't even feel like one really! Once I started writing it definitely wasn't with the purpose of an end result! Thanks so much! I did feel like I opened up my heart as I was writing this. Thanks for sending love and light to us xxxxx Thanks for the fabulous competition, I had a great time xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05