Your Personal Web Site Should be the Focus of Your Social Media Effort

in #steemcleaners4 years ago

sth.jpg

Last week I foolishly entered a flame war about the use copied content on social media. The person who started the conflict was upset with bots that downvoted his posts because they were copied and pasted from another source.

I agree with #steemcleaners . I think copy and paste jobs should be down voted. The reason that you should not copy and paste text between SteemIt and your personal web site is because Googlebot will recognize the copied text and give demerits to both your personal site and SteemIt!

The solution to this problem is simple: DON'T COPY AND PASTE!

I don't know why people can't understand such a simple concept. Some one asked me. How should people use their personal blogs in relation to social media.

That is easy to answer. You should use Social media to feed your personal web site.

You can do this without copying or pasting content. What you want to do is to establish a work flow that focuses the attention of your effort on your personal site:

To show the proper work flow for content that involves a personal web site and SteemIt, I created an example.

I wrote an article on my personal site titled: Social Media and Web Development. I then wrote this post. This post has a link to the insightful article on my personal site.

It is that easy.

Because this post has a link to my web site, the Googlebot is likely to recognize my personal site as the canonical source.

Googlebot hates duplicate content. The site on my personal web site has more information and uses different wording.

This is really simple to do. I just wrote an article on this topic. The topic is still fresh in my brain. The words for this post simply fly off my fingers.

To re-enforce the concept that my site is the canonical source of the information. I typed up a post similar to this post on a social media platform that uses a cheap knock-off of the SteemIt platform. To complete the circle, I might tweet about the the article on my site and drop a post on Tumblr about the article.

Each post has slightly different wording.

As you see. Googlebot is a robot. It can recognize patterns, but it can't read. It will treat all of the links to my site as different posts pointing to my web site as the source.

If I copied and pasted text, Googlebot would match the pattern of the text.

A steemit post has a seven day life cycle. I want the PR of my post to go to my web site because the traffic that views this post seven days from now does me no good.

Sort:  

Interesting. A good piece of information. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13