Still lingering around the Gate?

in #steemchurch6 years ago

shutter-gate-500x500.jpg
May I ask again, are you still lingering around the Gate? I was reading a book by one of my favorite writers, Charles Haddon Spurgeon. In this book entitled Around the wicked gate, he emphasized the reality of conviction in the life of the sinner prior to salvation. He confirmed the need for convictions and repentance from many scriptural passages in the bible.

But one thing that caught my attention and has caused me to write this message to you, my dear reader, is that there are a couple of people who make conviction their goal. They get stuck at the wicked gate (as used in John Bunyan's pilgrim's progress), and never enters. They never experience the Only Way to the Father.

It's quite pathetic that most people in the church are at the gate. They are comfortably sitting there thinking that one day one time, they'll enter. But if not by the mercies of God, these same people are going hear the gate locked forever and there they will weep and gnash their teeth for eternity.

Convictions are God-given and no one can make it happen except by the power of the Holy Ghost. But conviction is not the end. It is not even the start. It's only after one believes and is saved that the journey starts. It's only when one enters the Gate that he finds the One and Only Way to the Father - Jesus Christ. But the danger is still there. The danger of being content with awakening.

Let me try to illustrate with this scenario. Imagine you were asleep and suddenly you woke up and to your amazement, your room was set on fire. Would you sit on your bed and praise God for awakening you from your slumber? Won't that be a foolish thing to do?. Won't you just get up at once and find a way of escape. Would you sit there and make merry for not been consumed into ashes?

If I were you, I would run for my life. I would find a way to escape before I imagine how I woke up from sleep and even give praise to God. Awakening isn't meant for awakening sake. It's a state in which the sinner prepares to leave the sinfulness of this world and embrace the Holiness of God unto the Salvation of his or her soul by grace through faith. Consider this verse with me.

Now when they heard this they were cut to the heart, and said to Peter and the rest of the apostles, "Brothers, what shall we do?" (Acts 2:37, ESV)

Remember this was after the Holy Ghost had descended upon the apostles and Peter had preached. The people, upon hearing the words of Peter were convicted, they were "cut to the heart" and inquired of Peter what they shall do? As I've said earlier, This is where some people end their journey. They are content with the conviction of their hearts. They think that that's what it means to be saved. In a similar way, to know that you are sick doesn't guarantee your healing. Only those who repent and believe find this new life To know that you're sinful is not synonymous with salvation.

One leads to the other. Being lingering around the Wicked Gate doesn't make you enter. It's only those who have the key to that door. And that key is faith. Faith is the key that opens this gate. One may try with his strength and it won't move an inch. But those who are humble enough to employ the faith their Master gives to them will open without any difficulty.
So Peter goes on to reply to their solemn question. He said in the following verse

"Repent and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins, and you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. (Acts 2:38, ESV)

Now we know that awakening must lead to repentance and baptism if not it becomes cos 90. It becomes as useless as works are to salvation. It's my plea this day that everyone who's reading this message will understand the difference between conviction and salvation. Also, it's my prayer that someone who's at the Gate to eternal life will repent and believe. For it'll be very sad to wait patiently at the Gate for such a long time just to be told that the gate is shut forever.

You have the key, there is faith. You're convicted. Why don't you believe? Maybe your convictions are going to fade away. Why don't you repent and believe!

I pray that you become blessed by reading this message. I hope to hear from you in the comment section. And remember to share with your friends
Image source
This is Nana Yeboah
@gadol from @sc-g
DQmPARuNVf8QkAJaEomp7zPsHQFyU2jB5kFKZ2eSq37szvy.jpegU5dsfcuMaEDUSSTTVGmA5bTjQ2Y8G6D_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Excellent post @gadol, I pray with you that people will get this message and enter into the Kingdom of Heaven!

Amen. I pray so too. God bless you for your comment

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I have thought a lot about Gods will to make us go conquer the Underworld this week. Would love for you too read my recent blog post about you and share your thoughts

Hello sir. I have a request for you.Could you sign for me, and in return, I'll sign for you.

Sign what My friend?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71