Staying Positive | Ways To Measure Improvement | Acknowledging The Improvement

in #steemalive3 years ago

Introduction

One of the problems that we have with positive transformation is that we cannot measure it. To be honest, we can measure it, but we need to keep a lookout for it. But the fact that the transformation is not readily visible could lead some people to give up prematurely. What do I mean by that?

Well, if you are looking to live a happy life from your stressful or fearful life, it is not readily known if you have achieved that happy life or not. There are two reasons for this. The first one is that the reason that caused you to fear or remain in stress is no longer applicable. So, you don’t know how you would act in that condition. And the second is that even if you face the same circumstances, you have become stronger to deal with it, hence do not feel those past emotions. This means your mind won’t even register that you have gone through an old circumstance. The problem therefore is, in either of the cases, you are unable to see the difference.

cooldesign_Freedigitalphotos.net.jpeg

So, what do we do? Let’s take a closer look.

Line_Divider2_Trunc.jpg

We Have Got Stronger By Staying Positive

I have been doing every single positive mindset exercise in my arsenal for the last year. This included everything from subliminals to affirmations to third eye meditation and scripting. Trust me, guys, my morning and night rituals have been so focused on positive thinking that negative thoughts have a nervous breakdown before reaching me. But why am I telling you this?

That’s because I wanted to build the case that you sometimes are unable to measure your improvement, yet you got to figure it out. It is precisely for the following two reasons:

  1. You have created a mindset that avoids previous circumstances (By the Law of Attraction) and/or

  2. Even if you are in the previous circumstances, your mind reacts to it differently

Let us look at each of them closely.

1. Mindset Change (By the Law of Attraction)

The Law of Attraction (LoA) followers would know that if we keep believing in something, then our mindset, our circumstances, and eventually, our reality changes. This means that, as we think, so we become. If we believed that we did not have money in the past, then we would have had situations where we are unable to make our bill payment. This means follow-ups from the service provider to make an immediate payment, which puts us under stress.

If I change my mindset to have positive thoughts about money, then the chances are that I would have more income coming in, allowing me to pay on time and hence reducing or having no calls from service providers for payment. As such, the circumstance of receiving calls from service providers for non-payment is eliminated. This is what you do not straightaway realize and link it to your own positive thinking. Do you follow? You would be happy that your monetary conditions have improved but do not correlate the elimination of an unhappy situation directly to your positive thinking. I hope you got it.

This is what LoA also says. As your thinking changes, so will your situation. So, all that we have to do is link the changes to our positive thinking. That’s one way to measure the impact of positive thinking.

Now, let’s look at the second point.

2. Being In The Old Circumstance With a Changed Mindset

Let’s take the above example of getting calls for non-payment of bills. You used to get stressed, and you tried positive thinking exercises to get to a stronger state. And it worked. Now, you can pay your bills on time, and the non-payment reminder calls have stopped. However, once due to some error in the payment system, the service provider does not realize that you have paid. This leads to the company calling you. You receive the call and explain that you have indeed made the payment and give the corresponding details. The caller from the company apologizes for the call before disengaging. All through the conversation and after it, you are hardly in stress or fear. Why?

You had been paying on time, and it had been a long time since you had a call for default in payment. As such, your mind has already undone the previous learning of stress and moved into the next state of relaxation around the settlement. So, when you do encounter the old circumstance, you may not even recall your old reaction. That means you do not have a way to register that you have improved as a person. And this is the second reason you do not note that your positive mental exercises have worked.

Do you notice that you have improved under two different circumstances, yet you do not link it to the positive changes in you? Why am I telling you all this?

Line_Divider2_Trunc.jpg

What’s Behind Me Telling You This?

The reason is my own experience today morning. It had to do with something going terribly wrong from what I had expected to happen. I was disturbed to the extent that I closed myself up. It took me about a couple of hours to come out of that mood. But I did and got about with my chores and work.

I got a few minutes free where I went back to the situation and my reaction. That’s when it hit me that I had improved as a person. I realized that those were the same situations that I had encountered many times in the past. Each time, I would go into a cocoon and not act at all. This could go on for days and sometimes even months. And I used to lose out on opportunities left-right-and-center. However, this time, I got out of it in a couple of hours. That was a whale of an improvement!

When I checked back, I realized that all my positive thinking exercises had changed me as a person. Not only did I outgrow the situations and circumstances (the LoA style), but I also improved in dealing with the problem when I encountered it again. Of course, I realized it only when I sat for a moment and went through the episode. Otherwise, I would have also overlooked the situation and missed a chance to commend my own work to improve myself.

I have seriously changed. What more can I say?

Line_Divider2_Trunc.jpg

Keep Acknowledging Your Improvements

We are conditioned to look at our shortcomings and keep acknowledging them by feeling bad and terrible. However, it is about time we acknowledged our positive changes and commend ourselves. That is what builds us up to make a difference in our lives and others’.

So, keep appreciating your positive and more assertive self and keep growing. And don’t forget to have total fun in the process!

Take care! 😊

----------------------

Image Courtesy: Cooldesign at Freedigitalphotos.net

----------------------
# Some Useful Sites to Give You More

Some of the good crypto-writing-earning sites:

Publish0x: Earn ETH || Read.cash: Earn BCH || Torum: Earn XTM || Tipestry: Earn Dogecoin

----------------------

Some crypto-faucets and jewelry earners:

Horizen: Earn ZEN || Mene: Earn $5 on signup

----------------------

Few Gaming-cum-earning sites

Splinterlands || Drugwars || Holybread

----------------------

Spot and/or Futures Trading Exchange

Binance

----------------------

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00