Anyone else notice the price of Steem fluctuating like crazy the past few hours?

in #steem6 years ago

If you hadn't noticed, then maybe like myself you noticed your account value going up and down like no tomorrow.

A few hours ago I was online and as always I checked to see if I had any rewards to claim so I could get them added to my account value and voting power. I saw the value to be a little over $14,500 and that is the lowest it has been in a while. Then coming back as I write this post it is well over $17,500...

I started to dig into why the price and value of STEEM was fluctuating to rapidly and here is what I found....


Screenshot taken from coinmarketcap.com (link below pick if you want)
https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/steem/

As you can see this past year the price is all over the place... but let us look at today's market fluctuation and try to zoom in on where and then why it has been going so crazy lately...

On to the why.... Well it is simple... it is because of you!


As you can see a simple search for the price prediction of Steem has the top 3 posts from right here on Steemit and if you go ahead and scroll down that list you will see several other websites reporting that STEEM doesn't only have a road prepaved by BTC but enthusiasts like yourself are flocking to the website to get their hands on what they can of the future of social media.

There is so much value already viewed by major people in the world and there is so much more to come...


The more people realize there is not only value from the STEEM itself but also from the community the more people will come and the more they will stay. On top of that, the value and stability of the community will continue to grow. This in turn will solidify STEEMS market value and continue to draw more people into the community.... Circle of STEEM eh?

Thanks for tuning in and good luck to you!

~ @Timbo

Sort:  

Haha lol.. steem to $1000? Then i will give a big party ;-)

Psh I better get an invite to that party! :P

Wait till it is $10,000 then $100,000

Hope you are right but when steem hits $1000 you get an invitation.. Its in the blockchain now... first to $10 and Then up to 100

Sounds good to me! Is it hit $1,000 then I would easily have the money to come to the party! :D

These are positive signs, i knew steem blockchain will thrive seamlessly in the coming week. Just check the google search result above, those are not just mere predictions also coupled with recent Weiss Ratings of steem,in which steem is in the top 5 of all cryptos.

Isn't that spectacular? I am shocked to see it doing so well and it is less than 2 years old. Who would have thought.

I am certain we will see more progression and development from the platform and it will bring more community and more worth to the value of Steem.

So we did this! Interesting. Maybe there is a way we can all help to skyrocket it

Yes, there is a way you can help. Advertise Steemit as a whole... not just your own pages and posts but talk about Steemit to your friends, your family, on any social media outlet you can find. Bring in more people and help them out once they are here.

Thanks @timbo! Am actually trying to do that. I work in a diagnostic center. I joined this January and so far ive introduce our health attendant, the x-ray technician, the ECG technician. Am sure before Feb. every one in my place of work would be team steemit and we could take it higher to introduce client and patients that come to our facility. By printing flyers and bill. Thanks for the advcice

I am unsure what country you live in but I would talk to the Management of the Hospital... possibly you can start to accept STEEM for payments for bills and what not. Maybe even talk to the companies that provide things like electric and water and see if they will take STEEM for payments. Maybe they won't right away but it never hurts to get the information and if you ask them now maybe in some time with some thought they will want to. :)

Steem is the way to go. Not only just a cryptocurrency currency but running a utility service like Steemit. There's a future for Steem and its a bright one.

I agree completely. Can't wait to see what the future holds for Steemit. Who knows, maybe facebook will drop off like myspace and steemit will take over all the lost territory.

Yes, the steem is fluctuating a lot but that seems to me to be good depending on how you want to use it. I think your post is very informative. Thanks for the info

Thank you very much. At the moment everything seems to be pretty stable. At least for the past few days. Maybe we will see more changes to come although there is a possibility it will drop there is also a possibility it will rise! Thanks for the comment.

thanks for sharing the experience you had when first starting out. i will keep that in mind for any future comments i might be making. thanks for preventing new steemians from making those mistakes :) by @timbo way i like what your doing here on steem, you keep it real, i can appreciate that for sure :)
thanks for sharing your experience :) ..

Yup I noticed it in the first place when I logged in to my account and saw the earning boosted like crazy. That was steem value fluctuation though but its good for us. Hope to see the prices of steem going up like crazy.

Don't we all! :D I think it is an awesome platform and to see it doing so well makes me excited for the future.

Nice post.I respect you very much because you contribute to steemit.I will do activities like you.I would like to extend the steemit.

Why am I the only one bothered about SBD price. Everyone else is wishing for it to be pegged to $1 USD.

What bothers you about it? Could you elaborate a little more?

I can get more steem for the SBDs accumulated if SBD is 8 and steem is 5. Currently I'm at loss.

Just trade in your SBD then and get more for it. I don't understand why anyone would want to peg it to $1 USD either as it should fluctuate just like anything else. Thanks for the input.

There are many discussions going on. Witnesses and whales are wishing it to be pegged to $1. Probably it will add value to the platform in the long run.
It is meant to bring stability to the trades happening on this platform.
Not immediately but we will see it pegged down to $1.

Here is a link for the debate if you are interested in understanding the economics behind the debate.
https://steemit.com/steem/@buggedout/steem-dollar-peg-debate-stakeholder-analysis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70023.87
ETH 3513.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.86