You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Buy STEEM? And Why Buy STEEM!

in #steem6 years ago

What are the things, right now, standing between you buying more STEEM?

Confidence that Steem will work, largely. I see all of this talk blaming the price for user/content degradation, and how we're just waiting for the next BTC spike, and it's discouraging, because if Steem doesn't work at $0.80 (or $0.25 or $0.07) then I don't think it works at all.

If I'm just putting money into something that needs to be propped up by Bitcoin, there doesn't seem to be a lot of point and I'd be better off doing something else with it.

I had $6000 USD in pipeline to become Steem Power if hf20 went well, and then it really, really didn't, and now that money is just sitting there while I have a hard time figuring out which direction I want that pipeline to move. Some of it that's in SBD is going to become BTC this week because I have $600 I want to spend in BTC and I'm not holding any, but that's not really progress.

Sort:  

Good feedback. Though I’d say that, ultimately, HF20 was a good thing and we’re in a better place now.

Yeah, the implementation was rough, but the end result is a big positive.

Technologically that may be true - though there are still some interesting emergent behaviors happening around the early vote penalty - but philosophically it very much isn't. We learned a bunch of scary things from the hardfork process:

  • Loss of user assets is not sufficient reason to roll back an update.
  • Code review and testing was woefully incomplete, and that incompleteness was kept secret - and the top witness in the best position of anyone to know that was spending his time trying to pump the price instead.
  • Steemit Inc.'s development process ignores user experience at every stage, and they seem to be fine with that.
  • The elected representatives of the user base make decisions in secret meetings in a private discussion forum.

Apart from some efforts on the code front by mid-tier witnesses, none of this has been addressed, and each of them on its own is very much a "run" signal to me. I'm trying to be patient about wanting to see some movement on these issues, but we're getting to the point where it's not looking good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33