Feeding frenzies and future friends

in #steem5 years ago

Today's training session was good and considering I didn't understand a lot of it, there was a lot of value in seeing how some of the other trainers approach training, one even has a similar style to myself so I think I am going to leverage their skills and see if modelling a little will help me get up to speed on some things faster. There are so many things to learn that I have to make sure that I can cut uptake corners where possible and have more time to focus on key points. Normally a feeding frenzy requires many, I feel like I have to eat it all by myself at the moment.

It is really weird not being on Steem as much and barely even having time to check in during the day. With so much going on I am having to batch respond at the moment as well as do something I really discourage anyone trying to grow their account, post and run. I see quite a few people that want to develop their position on Steem who are posting and running and waiting sometimes days to answer comments, if they answer at all.

It is unlikely going to work out the way they want and is much like doing only half the required work. As I see it, building an account has various parts to it and while someone might like doing some bits of others, they all need to be performed adequately. There are people who post great content but don't reply in a timely fashion, others that reply but don't add anything of substance and many who never get off their own blog, even though they don't get a huge amount of comments themselves. Engagement across Steem is a massive part of building a solid network.

But the building is only one side of it as when it comes to having a good and enjoyable experience here, it is the interaction with others on the blockchain that facilitates it. Those who are purely her to earn will nearly always face the problem that they lose motivation as price decreases whereas those who have social interaction, friends and communities to mix with are much more resistant to the ups and downs of both Steem and the emotional FUD that flows through the chain at various times.

As I said above, modelling desirable patterns is a pretty good way to get a foundation built quickly and if you look for the accounts that weren't here at the beginning and still managed to build a decent network, that is a good place to start. What I like to see is when there are new accounts who go through the work, develop their approach and consistently interact until they start attracting more and more support, more comments, more shares and of course, a more enjoyable experience for themselves.

There is often an expectation problem here that people assume that they show up and the platform does it for them, all they need to do is post. While that might work on the algorithmic platforms to some extent as they suggest users and the like, even there there is a great deal of work involved to monetize adequately and that work takes time and investment also.

Part of the premise for Steem and decentralized blockchains is of course the taking back of responsibility and action for the self. While it sounds good in theory, many people have been so programmed by the platforms and societies that do a great deal of designing to make us dependents on them. Little things like account security we outsource and rather than protect ourselves we allow them to ask, forgot your password? and then give a 'click here' option.

While applications can of course tackle this issue in various ways, I use it just to demonstrate that on Steem, there is a lot more up to us as individuals to perform, our Steem lives are our own. While this can be a hurdle to onboarding and retention for many, for those who do the learning they will likely find like I did that taking control and responsibility for our own Steem experience opens us up to be able to be much more creative and play in areas where we might not have had access to otherwise. Responsibility of action is the real definition of freedom in my opinion.

At work it is my responsibility to get myself up to speed and even though at the moment it feels like a Wikileaks data dump has landed on my desk, sorting through it and developing my approach is up to me. Yes, my workplace can support this but the largest opportunity is going to be through me developing good relationships with my colleagues so that they are comfortable in supporting me so in the future, I can support them. What I am doing is integrating into their community and in time, they will leverage what I can offer also however, it is not their responsibility to chase me.

Yes, we want to support new users on Steem but people also have to remember that this is a place that is meant to encourage freedom of thought and action, not being stepped through and crutched for the journey at every point. What I have found is that those who have taken the journey and fallen a couple of times are the ones who do the best in the long run, while those who get support consistently from the start never learn to stand on their own two feet and, soon give up if that support stops.

For example:

If one is going to sell a "MASTER" class course on "How to be successful on Steemit", they might really want to be in a position where after 24 hours they have more than two comments.. and one of those is sarcastic, the other his. THe other thing that one might want to understand is,

STEEMIT IS NOT STEEM!

 
It is people like this who are public, outward-facing users who purport to know what they are doing while spreading the wrong information about Steem and the wrong practices, that are confusing the Steem message. First of all, what is "success" on Steem? That definition is the users responsibility to discover, not someone who's only way to get attention for himself is to buy visibility. How long til he leaves I wonder? Maybe if Steem hits 5 cents these people will disappear. But, he has his approach and does what he does and no one need pay any attention to him at all. It is all part of the game.

Some people will come in and model themselves on the likes of Joe and Jerry (it could be a cartoon) while others will find role models that will help them develop for the long-term. It might be slower but over time, it is likely much more rewarding from not only a financial perspective, but also from the social relationships and friendships built.

To each their own though as that is part of freedom of action. As are the results.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Responsibility of action is the real definition of freedom in my opinion.

Yes, at the very least freedom is the ability to make decisions in the face of inevitable consequences and knowing one is going to be responsible for them despite not having complete foresight or control. That's very hard for people. So they either fail to decide or follow someone else and then blame whoever they followed if things don't turn out.

I like your analogy between your new job and being new to STEEM. The steemit platform especially takes a lot of study and practice to learn. When I started I had to really read and follow links to more reading on every article that was on the Welcome section. I'm certain that few people do that, because they wouldn't have the questions they have and do the things they do if they simply read it. So few people are self-directed learners. My god, if there is one thing you do for your daughter that I've suggested, teach her to make something out of her own boredom! Let her get bored then find her own way out!

So they either fail to decide or follow someone else and then blame whoever they followed if things don't turn out.

blame Ned at the moment it seems.

So few people are self-directed learners.

Some will claim 'trial and error' learners because they didn't read but I would assume it is 'work off habit' more than any process.

Let her get bored then find her own way out!

One of the reasons that she is so creative is because we have left her to find her own things to do. We don't give her any screen time or passive entertainment, yet we still have to do all the things we need to do. This has meant that while we are cooking foods in the kitchen for her diet, she is finding her own way. We have done this since the start so she is happy working out her own games. Being bored is the mother of invention ;)

One of the reasons that she is so creative is because we have left her to find her own things to do. We don't give her any screen time or passive entertainment

I credit so much of my success in life to my family having done this. They didn't so much do it with foresight as simply not having the means to keep me entertained because we were so poor during my formative years. Few toys. All I had were books of my older sisters and parents. At times I even read the dictionary. So grateful for it now!

I think there is a reason why so many creative people have poor origin stories. Same with sports people and entrepreneurs.

“Joe and jerry” does sound like it could be a funny cartoon 😂. You are so right! It doesn’t matter how good your content is, readers or viewers (voters) won’t chase you unless you give back with some interaction. I keep preaching this to people who just joined but most don’t seem to listen and just “post and run” and expect to become popular that way. Personally since steemfest I’m so glad I met so many people in person and now I truly enjoy reading their stuff and having an actual dialogue. It’s so much more rewarding

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sorry, I posted and ran ;D

Meeting in person has helped connect with many at a deeper level and now I imagine them telling their story in the post, voice and all :)

nah you never post and run =) you always comment!

Growing an account is very hands on. I agree posting and running won't help one grow. Time is difficult though so posting when you have time is the only way and responding to comments in a timely fashion.
This must be hard for you as you are condensing a day of Steem into a few hours now.

It is hard at times to find the chance to comment but it is worth it. A lot of people don't realise that if they wait too long, the reply is likely to find the person in a different mood and different thoughts than they were when they wrote it. sometimes this is a good thing :D

I am doing okay considering but, it feels weird.

Posting and running can only be successful with those that have large steem power, and some are doing it and are successful with it. But if you have little steem power and you are posting and running, you will get nothing hehehehehehe!!!!

even with large SP it usually doesn't work although they might still earn. depends what their purpose is I guess.

One of the factors I most like about the journey is that it is adaptable to your reality and the dynamics can adjust accordingly. If time becomes an issue, you can automatr curation or go for passive income with a bot. You can also delegate SP for someone to use that influence to create value as well. Despite being active, I always look to diversify my stake by allocating some to projects that help communities grow and add value to the network. Since I am powering up 100%, there is bo extraction from the ecosystem!

Posted using Partiko iOS

One of the factors I most like about the journey is that it is adaptable to your reality and the dynamics can adjust accordingly.

Yep, I just wrote something that touches on this. There are so many ways one can go here and more coming each day.

Since I am powering up 100%, there is bo extraction from the ecosystem!

At some point hopefully, people will be begging users to sell ;D

Joe and Jerry (it could be a cartoon)

Hahaha, I laughed out a little xD

If this is a place of freedom how come there are more and more rules to live by if you want to belong to the community?

Posted using Partiko Android

There are many communities, you can even make your own.

Joe Parys is a clown, his how to succeed at Steemit blogs have a bunch of paid upvotes. The expert on steem success buys a bunch of votes

I just hope that people who have been influenced by Joe and Jerry might later change their minds and be influenced by people like you.

At the beginning of my time here I looked up to Jerry a lot. I even invested into his bid bot and voted for him as a witness at one time. But this changed as I started to miss the honest approach.

Now I'm glad I can feel your influence on me instead.

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has been included in the latest edition of SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19