Steem Buying Opportunity?

in #steem6 years ago

Steem Buying Opportunity

I have been interacting with the Steemit community again after going through a couple more absent spells. I have never stayed around here for long periods of time and really jumped into the community, I am a part timer.

I drop in for awhile, get bored or frustrated, and then forget all about Steem for months at a time.

I am not really a content creator, not am I an IT or tech guy to say the least. I do not have the technical skill to be developing Dapps or the like.

What I am is a voluntaryist. I was attracted to Bitcoin fairly early as an alternative to the destructive central banking schemes of the world. I am fairly well versed in economics, and vehemently reject Keynesianism and instead follow a much more Austrian school of thought.

Screenshot_20181019-111949_Chrome.jpg

I was immediately drawn to BTC once I learned of it, and began buying and using BTC back in mid-2013, I then invested in some of the alt-coins, and finally joined Steemit in mid-2016.

Long story short, I am here mostly as an investor in Steem, but I also enjoy interacting with other users. So I use it a little bit like social media I suppose.

This time around, I am much more interested than in times past, and I plan on sticking around this time. I think that HF20 was, although rolled out sloppily, a necessary development.

Steem is gearing up for some real change! And change for the better.

I find it amusing that I am still seeing the same old debates about how to stop reward pool "abuse" and how to better attract, reward, and retain quality content. There are still minnows complaining that the whales have too much power, and that it is impossible for them to earn. Large parts of the community are still stuck exactly where they were when I joined in 2016.

The funny thing is, in order to be successful on Steemit, the recipe for success is exactly what is was two years ago.

Screenshot_20181019-074901_Google.jpg

Practice creating better content, post regularly, interact with your followers, invest some of your own money, and participate in some sort of self-voting or vote selling.

Nothing has really changed. Anyone who had started doing ALL those things in 2016, would have considerably more Steem today. Simple.

Of course there are many here who are opposed to self-voting and vote selling, and still others who say that you should not have to invest your own money in order to fully participate. Those are valid arguments. But I am not a developer, I am an investor. I am interested in making the most returns on the blockchain as it currently stands.

I don't care about what should be. I am not invested in a blockchain that rewards the best content - even though that was the intention. I am invested in a blockchain that rewards social interaction, outside investment, and vote selling. So that will be my advice, as long as that is what we have.

What I find really funny is the number of people who publically state that bots, self-voting, and vote selling are all terrible and will kill Steem - and then privately run or support bots, self-vote, and buy and sell votes!!!

It appears that all of these issues are about to fade into the background anyway, as Steem has started to attract so many more developers.

Screenshot_20181019-114803_Google.jpg

It will be third party onboarding and Dapp development that really drive Steem forward. Will there still be a place for content creators? Yes. Will Steem still be a blockchain developed around the idea of a social media? Of course.

But the real growth, the real developments will be from this new entry into the Steem community - the entrepreneurs!! Those who will make Steem the most useful to the largest number of people will be the ones sharing in the largest portion of the rewards pool. No different from free markets anywhere - those who are able to serve the most customers make the most money.

The direction that Steem is on now will make all the "reward pool rape" battles over the last couple years look silly. That type of behavior will eventually be coded out of the blockchain to be less successful, and the rewards will be going towards those who have created the best Dapps, and who onboard the most new users instead.

In my opinion, this is the best time to start investing money into Steem. And that is exactly what I have started doing. Today I added a few Steem bought at a bargain price of $0.80. I will continue to make purchases weekly for the foreseeable future. An investment in Steem now isn't just an investment in a social media blockchain, it is an investment in all of the future Dapps that are being developed here as well.

All aboard the Steemtrain!

Sort:  

I am invested in a blockchain that rewards social interaction, outside investment, and vote selling.

That's what many people don't understand about Steem. It is no longer just a blogging platform where the longest and most documented full of pics post gets the best rewards. It's about making things simple, connecting people, giving them the freedom of speech and a chance to earn some money of the future on the way. Although I have also some of the frustrations that you mentioned in the post, or at least had them, I consider that every minute spent on Steem and any dollar invested in Steem will pay-off in the future. For now though we still have to witness flag wars and exaggerated bid bots boosted posts.

What I find really funny is the number of people who publically state that bots, self-voting, and vote selling are all terrible and will kill Steem - and then privately run or support bots, self-vote, and buy and sell votes!!!

I have also some people that I follow that give recipes on how to make it on Steem organically and then the pay some bot from time to time just to feed their ego. I guess those bid bots are a bit addictive. I have tried a few times to boost some of my posts also but noting more than 3 Steem per post, but since I quit them, in April I guess, I feel like I really don't need them. I am not against them or spending hours in creating posts about how destructive they are but I am not a fan either.

Today I added a few Steem bought at a bargain price of $0.80. I will continue to make purchases weekly for the foreseeable future.

Unfortunately all of my investing in cryptos money are already placed and have made my plans with them and since I am unemployed for about a year I can't invest any more of my savings in cryptos, but I really get your point. If Steem will get to let's say $30 in two years then buying one for 80 cents is really a great investment opportunity.

On what other cryptos are you long on?

All I currently hold is BTC, BCH, and Steem.

I am not really a content creator, not am I an IT or tech guy to say the least. I do not have the technical skill to be developing Dapps or the like.

I can say we are very much alike in this aspect.

As an investor I can only hope you are rewarded for your faith in the platform.

I genuinely do not have money to invest as of now, but I put my time and try to power up any steem I get.

don't care about what should be. I am not invested in a blockchain that rewards the best content - even though that was the intention. I am invested in a blockchain that rewards social interaction, outside investment, and vote selling. So that will be my advice, as long as that is what we have.

Wish we would stop having cynics who prioritze money over how social media should be. I love the mindset

Good to know a bit more about you Mike..

I did have to adjust to the HF20 (i un-delegated my SP for more usability), but it seems your upvote gets you more of the reward pool now, which must be a good thing..

I would definitely invest in Steem if i had money to invest, it could become a passive income stream, and you can't really have to many of those..

I don't get how the bots are bad, i mean who doesn't like the @haikubot ,
why i've got half a notion to summon it right now,

but i won't...

"But the real growth, the real developments will be from this new entry into the Steem community - the entrepreneurs".

Exactly this and that's also what we are seeing on the steem platform. Most funds goes to those who starts and builds, and that's a good thing if you ask me.

Are steem still available for people who just likes to blog and create content? Of course! It just takes some dedication and if you will, money to help yourself on the way.

But we branded a bit too fast steem as "come and get rich" and that bites a bit today. Because people realize there's no charity here. It's business, investments and competition.

Just like anywhere else in the world.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it was pretty wishful thinking from the start to market the Steemit website as though it was BOTH social media and a system for filtering out great content. I would say those two goals are at odds with each other.

Patience though, and it looks like the Steem blockchain will totally find a good purpose.

Great! This is why we always need to move forward :)
Don't Let Yesterday Take Up Too Much Of Today.

How did you end up with zero reputation score? And now that everything you do is hidden on Steemit, couldnt you just open a new account?

I am not being judgemental, just curious...

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 25 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 108 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01