You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Community Membership Voting Bots : Power Down & Lease Comparison

in #steem6 years ago

Struggling my way through this but have a few questions.

  1. The bot would only be getting 25% of the leased vote total of, $1508, paid all in SP. That is about 377, are you suggesting that gets powered down over thirteen weeks to buy another lease?
  2. The other part where you calculate the sustainability, does it assume all community members are roll 100% of SBD and SP(powered down again)from those votes back to the bot?
  3. In the power up scenario, is did the vote bot gain ~9SP for the next month from curation?

Complicated topic and I look forward to seeing what others think

Either way, I think I regret my SP purchase a while back, not because of the big price drop, bit I would have better off leasing or buying votes with the money vs a straight power up.

Sort:  

It's a tough topic but I'll try to answer your points to my understanding :-

  1. The bot won't get 25% curation because others will share the curation too. It might only be 10% but I still consider the rest to be distributed to the community since it will most likely be the community curating. The community then supports the bot with donations, paid membership (via liquid STEEM) and/or upvotes to bot posts to raise the funds for the next lease. I am really only asking the question "What to do with 1000 liquid STEEM" but if the bot was say 13,000 SP then it could be powered down for 1 week to get 1000 STEEM and then the power down cancelled. That liquid STEEM could then be used for a lease. Or it could be powered down for 2 weeks, or 4 - as required.

  2. I am assuming that both the bot and the community members have nominiated 50/50 STEEM/SBD for their posts, as is common sense for an elevated SBD price. Yes, I am also assuming the community is supporting the bot with donations, membership dues and/or upvotes so that the distributed upvotes are being recycled.

  3. In Scenario 1 the bot will get some curation reward. Less than 25%. Doing the math on the numbers I presented above it'd be a value of $28.35 USD worth of SBD, plus $14.17 USD worth of SP, plus $9.45 USD worth of curation reward. A total of $51.97 USD value. Some of the curation reward would return to the bot, the rest would be distributed.

Another point I forgot to mention is that some people (I believe MinnowBooster were doing this) do offer discounts on lease rates for community initiatives, so that potentially stacks the numbers more in favour of Scenario 2 but individuals would not qualify for that discount.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81