You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Positives and Negatives of Steem Delegations

in #steem6 years ago

I considered delegating to a bot. Ultimately, I decided against it. I figure, if I use this site as much as I used to use Facebook, then delegation would be worse than pointless. I'll make money anyway, and this way, I'll be rewarding content I actually like. As for creating content that continues to generate rewards, I have a strategy for that, too. I mostly write about philosophical subjects here, and so most of my posts are related to other posts. So I link to other relevant posts. That way, it constantly keeps old content relevant and keeps eyes on it. And I really have to do that anyway, because a lot of my arguments are pretty complex, and so you end up having to look at previous arguments to follow it. Also, once steemit goes mainstream, content will stay relevant permanently, because it is searchable. When it's searchable, and everyone is on it, people will continuously have the opportunity to find and upvote it. The one vice I do allow myself is to upvote my own stuff. Time is money. Can't afford to pass up the opportunity to pay myself for my time.

Sort:  

You can't upvote content older than 7 days, everything older than that you can just link, it can't generate any more Steem.

You are very new on this platform, takes time to build up Steem Power without investing considerable amount of your own money, and for delegation to bots to be interesting you need at least 2-3k Steem Power (that would yield you 2-3 SBD per day), everything under that number is better for organic curation and for building up a following. For me to get to 15k Steem Power I needed 1 year and 2 months, and most of that I earned while Steem was under 1$. It is a very long process I can tell you that for sure.

You're right. This is still week 2 for me, which makes me very much a newbie. I was not aware that you couldn't upvote after a week. I'm not sure how much sense that makes, other than helping to rotate the Trending page, maybe, but that could be done by simply putting an age limit or time and instance limit on trending posts. Or could it be a way of accommodating inflation limits? I don't know. Seems kind of arbitrary. And yeah, I've noticed that I'm really only making a few cents per day. That's more than Zuckerberg will give me, though. And the more active I am, the more I'll make. And let's face it. We're all social media addicts anyway. Might as well get something for it.

Another possible funding source is Monero. If you have a website, Coinhive API will have visitors mining Monero for you (and Monero's algorithm is PC and phone friendly). I've been thinking about integrating it into my personal website. Haven't gotten around to it yet, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29