You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time To Wake Up and Fix Steem's Voting Problem

in #steem6 years ago

I know I'm just a poor plankton, but also add to the discussion.
Personally, I have stopped using bid-bots and self-voting for a long time.
Why?
Because it will be much better if the real curators will appreciate my work. Then at least I know that my posts someone actually reads. I know that my work makes sense because I create for others.
In addition, if you do not upvote own comments, then I can upvote for much more posts (or even comments) of other Steemians.

I know my attitude is not the most popular one.
But, in my opinion, the main idea of Steemit is the quality and original creative content. Personally, I think the quality of my content should be evaluated by other Steemians (not self or bought upvotes).
But I may also be mistaken.

Steem On!

Sort:  

Yeah mostly, no self-respecting content creator or artist will ever buy votes, although I'm from the camp that's okay with whatever people want to do with their votes. If you're a team player, then sometimes some self-voting is okay as well if you're planning to gain a larger stake to support more users in the future. In any case, hard to stop anyone from doing whatever they wanna do, hence the point of this post in suggesting that we remove the proverbial trolley problem so no matter how you play the game, at least you're not losing out all that much since curation is more favourable under our proposal.

I agree with that.
Then I see the problem in buying upvotes for posts without any value and spamming trending. But until all Steemians understand that mindless content reduces the attractiveness of Steemit (and the STEEM prize), we can not find a generally valid solution to this problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14