You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FREE SP Delegation for STEEM newbies – Details Inside

in #steem5 years ago

Im happy to adjust, it tends to happen as programs evolve. 20sp might not be enough but if im going to run this for a long period of time via the course I might also end up with a lot of people to delegate too. It will be a bit of trial and error for a while. Thanks for stoping by and for your support

Sort:  

We did get by with 15 SP from Steemit Inc. as the seed for quite a long time, so 20 isn't necessarily unreasonable. It's just a matter of figuring out what to tell new users about what they can and should do in order to make the most use of the delegation.

I have no idea what the right numbers should be, for either value or length of time, but it seems like something that we should be able to figure out from the data.

Part of that is trying to figure out what the minimum amount of interaction we expect someone to engage in, and I don't think that we've really ever had that discussion played out, either. Three comments a day? Three comments and five votes? A post, three comments, and five votes? These are all things we can figure out what the RC price is and work backwards, I suppose.

20 SP will give 40 G RC. the course they complete to get this contains info on how to check RCs and how much things cost, we look at tools like beempy and there is an activity to complete on the same topic so im hoping they can do a lot of this for them selves :-)

I look at this like I think about going to a restaurant (which is on my mind, since this was a problem checking a restaurant site just a few minutes ago). As a casual user/new user/passerby on the street, I don't really want to have to go digging in a nearby trash bin for discarded receipts or nip down the street to pop into another shop to find out how much the dishes cost in a place that looks interesting. I want it to be on the menu.

This is really, in part, a core problem with the RC system in general. There are costs and they are not immediately made clear to the consumer before the time of purchase; it's either more than you can afford or they bring you your stuff.

But it seems like the sort of thing that should be communicated to the user or interested party before it becomes an issue. In this case, it's very difficult for someone who might be interested to know if your delegation of 20 SP is significant, will let them actually engage at the level they think they should, etc. They don't know if it's a good deal because they don't know what they can do with that 20 SP until they commit to getting involved and taking the class.

It seems to me that helping them understand what that 20 SP/40,000 RC really means in context of what they might can do more that they can't do now would it people more interested in getting on board with the program.

It's always easier to get people involved when you tell them what's in it for them in terms that they immediately understand.

As for the new restaurant on the square which doesn't have any prices on its menus, I've already given them the drive by stink eye.

And you were left hungry, like possible uptaker on this. I hear ya. thanks for the advice, which I will take on board as it make sense. most of the communications on this are done via the course, i will make sure they know.

Well, more accurately instead of going to the expensive steakhouse with no prices I stepped literally next door and had some awesome, really cheap pizza because they had the price posted right in front of the door on a clever piece of chalk board. That told me that they were proud of their work, that they trusted me to make a good decision, and that they didn't have any need for pretense.

(Also, their spaghetti is much better than the pretentious Italian place on the other corner of the square. You should drop by northern Atlanta sometime; I know where all the good food is.)

Ultimately, we both want more people to take your courses. I have no personal stake in that, but it's nice to see people succeed at what they want to do. To that end, it's always best to give people an idea of what they can have as a result of engaging with you and the services that you provide. You want people to know what they can get out of it – as opposed to what they will get out of it or what they might get out of it or what they may get out of it. All different things people want to know about. Generally upfront.

Also, I have a much longer article inspired by the discussion we had about a week ago regarding loyalty card systems within the steem blockchain which should see daylight on Saturday. Hopefully it will be slightly interesting. The thought wedged sideways in my brain and I needed to write it out, as often happens.

lol I hope people take the course cos they want to learn, the delegation was a bonus lol but I dont think like everyone else so I value your imput and yes i would be interested in your article, please do ping me when its done cos my head is still sideways on it and I havent nailed anything down with myself.

I was pretty challenged by the idea myself, which is why it's stuck with me for a week while I crunched on ideas, but I came to some conclusions.

Not necessarily useful conclusions, but I at least put together a kind of shadow potential experiment of what such a thing might and should look like.

I don't know. It's cued to be posted at noon on Saturday in whatever time zone Steempeak is, so we shall see.

Ultimately, you want people to take your courses because they want to learn, but you also have to give them a reason to want to learn that. In particular, when it comes to the steem blockchain/Steemit Inc./STEEM, that is a really huge learning curve to take on for a lot of very airy, potentially valuable results, and that potential is very hard to acquire, hard to achieve, and just hard to do. I've always felt that the best way to get people interested in doing that sort of thing is to tell them what the costs are. Let them know what the real problems are, let them know that you don't have all the solutions but you have at least the tools to share with them that they can come up with answers themselves and share back with everyone else. Having set the expectation that there will be effort and not necessarily success but incremental movement, anything better than that as a result makes people into really strong advocates for your work because their expectation has been exceeded. If, for the multitude of reasons we already know exist, they don't have crazy, outrageous success – at least their expectations have been set appropriately and they're not disappointed, they're either dissuaded which is not your fault or interested in continuing the work, for which you have already primed them to think of you in positive terms, advice may be interested in more training.

One day I'll figure out a way to make myself at least look like a crypto-cultist, but for now I'll settle for being the voice of reason and respect for the consumer. Somebody's got to do it, it might as well be me.

A voice of good reason. I still have not done the 'hard launch' so it will make an interesting read for me. Im curious by nature, i love learning and dont need the coaxing and so it can be hard for me to remember and consider the real needs of others

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80