FAKE NEWS: Pay with STEEM in SAMSUNG Stores in Lithuania, Estonia and Latvia

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

UPDATE:

The news that I quoted in my post below turned out to be FAKE NEWS. It was initially published on CopPay’s Medium blog and later deleted. Samsung has refuted the existence of partnership with CopPay since then.

This is kind of mind-blowing news, my fellow Steemians:


According to this news article by Jamie Redman of news.bitcoin.com, Samsung stores in Tallinn, Riga, Vilnius, and Kaunas (the largest cities in the Baltic States) are going to accept a number of different cryptocurrencies – including STEEM – for their products. This was made possible by Samsung’s partnership with the payments processing company CopPay.

Samsung store

Image source: news.bitcoin.com

The list of supported cryptocurrencies includes:


  • Bitcoin (BTC)
  • Litecoin (LTC)
  • Ether (ETH)
  • DASH
  • NEM
  • STEEM
  • Ripple (XRP)

    What do you think, guys? Are you excited by this news? Isn’t it awesome that one can now spend one’s STEEM to buy electronics in Samsung’s stores? Do you live in one of the Baltic States? And, if you do, are you going to give this a try? Please leave your replies in the comments below!


Sort:  

this is awesome - glad that they're opening up more to cryptocurrencies. Def feels like SK has been going through a tug of war w crypto and the pro crypto folks are winning

I'm loving it. Cryptocurrencies are going to be huge in a couple years. There will be hundeds of millions saying, 'why didn't I get into it back in 2017 when every media outlet started discussing it.'

I agree 100%. And I think the crypto will become huge much sooner than we even dare to hope.

This is great news for STEEM!

I am also super excited about learning about this news
I am a proud Steemit writer after reading this ;)

This is awesome. Now if only I could afford their products. :D

Keep Steeming and you will! ;)

Considering the amount of steem I earn from my posts, I think, that I will be able to buy a Samsung phone in the year 20019 ( that's not a typo).

Unfortunately this turned out to be fake news… :( Keep saving up your post rewards, my friend.

God damn it! You can't trust anything these days.

This news is very encouraging. Our favorite Steem is among the top accepted cryptos.

I think it is great news @oleg326756...
I don't live in the mentioned areas but altleast it needs to start somewhere and if it jas started there, then it's only a matter of time before it gets to my place. This is good for me.

Do you know how CoPPay work? Like Bitpay or is it "real" payment in steem without middlehand?

No, I haven’t done research on CopPay. But my intuitive guess is that it’s similar to BitPay.

/Cool! That's great news!

Do they do SBD as well or just STEEM?

The article only mentioned STEEM.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83