You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Voting is a popularity contest

in #steem8 years ago

This is probably one of the most cerebral posts I've seen. Period. Being a newbie (about 2 weeks old) I've seen similar platforms use voting as an indication of quality. And as you've stated, this is simply not true. While quality is subjective, I also believe that "popularity" comes from mob mentality - lemmings, if you will - who will mindlessly follow because they think they're missing out on something.
Sure, I could post kittens allllll day long, but I'm here to write. Too bad no one notices. Ah well! Thanks for the article. It's by far one of the best ones I've come across.

Sort:  

I'm glad you found the post valuable and thank you for the positive feedback. It is appreciated!

I want to thank you also for this Blog/Post, and the ability to time travel via steemit. Without @infovore, I would not have found your nor more importantly, a new, (well to me), writer to read. Popularity, and quality can sometimes go hand-in-hand. I just wish that in order to vote on a thing someone had to actually take the time for the page to load. I still do not understand how a post can have 16 votes, and only 13 views, unless there is an eyeball (views) glitch in the system.

but I'm here to write. Too bad no one notices.

Opps to late someone found you. I got here in the past because @infovore upvoted a blog/post of mine, I went to his site, saw that he had a steem-mag, (he upvoted my little mag I started) I went all the way back in time, (see time travel is possible), found the link to his first steem-mag post, then the link to this blog/post by @smooth, (and this was one hell-of-a post), saw your comment, and walla, a writer,(you), connects with me, a reader. This is one of the things I really like about steemit. I will be looking your blog/post over more closely for stories, already found your "The Dying - flash fiction horror", which I am headed over to read now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71