You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Still positive on the way down

in #steem6 years ago

you know Oliver, last year it went from 4 dollars to 7 cents... 7 cents!! but at that time, many new whales emerged. Now, imagine you spent 20k USD and you see your wallet cost a subway meal in a month.... that is crazy.

Sort:  

I'm afrain that's what you get when you produce nothing and expect to make big money. There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch. (TANSTAAFL) The more I learn about this Bitcoin BS, the more I'm convinced its one of the biggest scams ever perpetrated. So what am I doing here? Damned good question. Maybe I'm trying to give you guys an honest way to make your gimmick work.

I've struggled a lot throughout the years to understand money. Mainly because as I'm sure you know, FIAT, the currency we call "real money" has not had anything to back it for decades now.

I remember someone telling me this when I was a teenager, and also telling me what inflation meant. That governments could print as much as they needed to cover the bills.

As I've grown up and learned more about economy and corruption, I also started to wonder if there was ever going to be a way to control it. How could people protect themselves against a government that hyperinflates their currency to pay the luxurious lifestyles of the elite (venezuela comes to mind)?

There was no answer, none. The countries that failed economically reverted to bartering. I remember reading when I was 18 or so that Argentina's economy had collapsed and people would break into farms to cut of tails of cows and run, some barbaric times indeed.

This anonymous guy comes up with a solution, says people can trade an electronic token, that cannot be corrupted, cannot be inflated, cannot be erased, immutable ledger of information. All people had to do is agree it had value, if they agreed, then it did, in the same way you and I agree a dollar is worth something.

Convergence of wants.

We are watching that story unfold before our eyes still... maybe it was a genius idea, maybe it was the dream of a madman. But, one thing is for sure, it can't be unthought of, it can't be uninvented... the concept, that is, the possibility of economic freedom is utopian, some would even say cultist, religious to use a hyperbole.

How do you destroy that? Would you even want to?

You're forgetting one thing: "Real" money is actually backed by something. It's backed by the full faith and credit of the United States of America.

Yes you are right, btw, have you seen this?

http://www.usdebtclock.org/

If I took your link to the national debt as an aspersion cast on our credit, my response would be, do something about it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48