Suggestions to improve Steem and Steemit, part 1

in #steem7 years ago

I have decided to write an ongoing series about how I think Steem and Steemit could be improved. My perspective is that of a recently started user and a small-time investor. I may be wrong or misinformed about some things and I would like to ask those who know better to correct any misunderstandings in the comments.

First of all, it seems to be difficult to obtain a new Steem account at this time and maybe has been for some time. I remember there being no difficulty at all in February when I signed up on Steemit. I think it was @samupaha who suggested that new users should be allowed to purchase a new account. I agree. It should be made as easy as possible to sign up using whatever method.

Secondly, while I've got the hang of how to use the Steemit GUI, I think it is still quite rudimentary and needs work. Compared to Facebook, Steemit is light years behind in functionality, design and ease of use. One thing that springs to mind is better content filtering. Perhaps some sort of machine learning based system to suggest content based on past reading habits, upvotes, downvotes and stated preferences. Finer granularity in content classification would be handy. Not all of it would have to be explicit and directly accessible to the user.

Thirdly, the use of advertising to increase the monetary value of the Steem. I have found advertisements on Facebook to be visible enough to be valuable to the advertiser but unobtrusive enough to not be a nuisance. Unless this is some sort of fundamental ideological choice I see no reason at all to not use this method to bring in massive revenue for all users.

Sort:  

Congratulations @markkujantunen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I agree with the advertisements. Even though we all hate adds, we love money! Advertisement is where the money is for sure! This would not only add monetary value to STEEM , it would also bring more users and would be the beginning of the end for facebook! It is only a matter of time before everyone realizes they can get paid to do the exact same thing they do every day on facebook. I believe in STEEM! How about you ?

I'm in the "I don't care about ads, but I care about security, so I block all of them" camp myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67