A Use Case for Steem in Restaurants

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

When I was growing up as the oldest of six kids, I enjoyed watching the reactions of waiters and waitresses as our tribe walked in.

We rarely received a warm welcome especially when there was a couple of us under the age of 8. Most of the staff saw a messy clean up and a mediocre tip - they were sorely mistaken.

My dad always made a point to tip our servers well, especially if they worked hard to keep our crew happy and showed a smile themselves.

That principle hit home for me even more when I worked at Cheesecake Factory. Being on the other side of that exchange reminded me of the importance of blessing someone for a job well done.

Steem or SBD for Restaurant Staff

My wife and I visited a Chipotle the other day and had one of our best experiences at a fast food establishment ever.

The service was exceptional and the entire group that was there were joking around with us as their hands moved like lightning.

I felt absolutely awful after we received our food and sat down to eat because there was no means to show our appreciation for the incredible service.

As we ate, the idea came to me of using Steem or SBD as options to tip the hourly workers we met at Chipotle.

What if there was a qr code on a magnet that each team member would place on the window as they came to work. With Steem, we could also use their username and the esteem app to send a micro-tip of any amount for free.

It may not amount to much, at most I could imagine an individual receiving $40-$50 in a day. However, when you consider that most of the fast food workers make $9-$10 an hour, that money can make all the difference by the end of the week.

What do you guys think. Have you seen this kind of application in use for Bitcoin or other cryptocurrencies already? Did it work?


Image Source: 1

Sort:  

What do you guys think. Have you seen this kind of application in use for Bitcoin or other cryptocurrencies already? Did it work?

I have not seen an app mainly for tipping restaurant workersbut would be a very good one as they would get to earn more and make a better living.
But it would be nice if they are introduced to steemit, and they introduce others the point I'm driving at is, if the whole community is on steemit the tipping would be easier as they can easily place their usernames on their idcards or name tags instead of their full names and customers who were satisfied can just look at the tag, open their app and tip.

Great point and another reason to grow the community.

This is already the future present. In Las Vegas, tips are already given with QR code. Hopefully soon this will generalize. Best regards

Ahh, real world application. Thank you, Felix.

Lydon,

At first blush reading this, I think you've got another great application for Steem and the direct use of Steem...

How about putting someone's Steem QR code on a button they could pin to their uniform? That way, Steemian customers could see the Steem logo on the button, and if they wanted to bless a worker, it could be captured with their smartphone camera...

Perhaps even better, create an app that would finger nearby Steemians willing to broadcast their presence. Encourage restaurant workers to run it and broadcast. Customers could then very unobtrusively, even anonymously if they wished, bless select workers.

You've got me thinking. I think you've got a winner idea here. :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

nearby Steemians willing to broadcast their presence. Encourage restaurant workers to run it and broadcast.

Oh I like that. I’d be more willing to frequent a restaraunt with Steemian waiters.

You would need a cryptoservice with waiter wallets and their public key avaliable for scaning...I can see this happening!

Wow, I didn’t know that. You are a smart lady, @reddust!

I wish I had a magnet and could receive $40-$50 a day instead of pennies lately...Uh, I told you I'd remind you about your prediction of a $50. SBD ...yeah, would be nice :)

Lol, that would be wild. And I still hold that prediction. :)

I haven't seen anything like it yet, but it's a great idea. Also, I'm the oldest of four, so I know the feeling.

Haha, firstborns tend to see it.

Given the fast transaction times and no fees, i think you're right that steem would be a good solution for tipping. I think accepting payment in steem for services like SEO, web-design etc. where you don't have suppliers to pay in fiat would also work.

I'd be willing to do SEO work in exchange for steem for sure lol.

I'd be willing to do SEO work in exchange for steem for sure lol.

Lol, I’m sure you could find some customers in the Steemit world.

really you are doing a amazing job for that kids.

You got a 2.71% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @lydon.sipe!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

that would be a good thing to tip with ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29