I'm a screenwriter who writes big budget ($80-150 million) movies about technology and disruption. I love the idea of Steem. Tell me what I need to know!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

PhotoJul2555554PM6f47a.jpg

I'm a screenwriter who writes movies about technology and disruption of all kinds, including disenfranchised communities and movements.

I wrote a movie about Wikileaks for Thunder Road Pictures (Sicario, John Wick) that got beaten into production by the horrible movie The Fifth Estate. They beat us by shortchanging the research, not caring about the story or characters and completely misunderstanding Julian and the story. The entire experience was kind of devastating for me. Julian and I are in touch, and he has been supportive.

I adapted Robert Ludlum's The Sigma Protocol for Universal. But "adapted" is the wrong word because Universal didn't want me reading the book. They wanted me to create a totally original franchise -- and I decided to make it about technology, oligarchy, and faith in the future.

In the last few months, I was set to direct a movie I wrote about #BlackLivesMatter but the deal fell apart after extensive negotiations. Welcome to Hollywood. I may still direct it depending on if I can put a new deal together. It's an 80's style action thriller about #BlackLivesMatter and it's hot.

I have written for Sons of Anarchy and The Dish. I currently create pilots for television shows as well as my movie work.

I have a podcast called Threat Surface that explores the intersection of technology and storytelling - the way the stories we tell about tech creates the tech we make, which creates our future. On my most recent episode, Brian Alvey, one of the originators of blogging said that any platform that doesn't pay users/creators directly for participating and creating is going to fail. And within days I heard about Steem! I love everything about the idea of Steem, and I want to participate! Thanks for having me. :)

Julie

twitter.com/julie_bush

juliebush.net

medium.com/julie_bush

facebook.com/juliebush

youtube.com/threatsurface

twitter.com/threatsurface

snapchat: bushjulie & threatsurface

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit. You are awesome!

Hello! I am @upvotes and I am here to help you get upvotes!

Just upvote this comment and your post automatically becomes an @upvotes candidate for: @people, @places, and @headlines
Several times a day the most upvoted candidates become the Best of Category post

Hello! I am @upvotes and I am here to help you get upvotes!

Just upvote this comment and your post automatically becomes an @upvotes candidate for: @people, @places, and @headlines
Several times a day the most upvoted candidates become the Best of Category post

Upvoted
Welcome to Steemit. Good Luck on your posts. Here is my introduction if you want to check it out.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@marsresident/verification-image-bitcoin-oracle-hinduism-and-social-media

Welcome to Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66911.69
ETH 3521.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19