Mana To The People!

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Happy Hard Fork!

pitch-fork-3068529_640.jpg

pixabay.com

Hope you all survived​ the fork.


This is partly a test post to see if I can post.
I can see there is some talk about resource credits and mana. I have not figured out so much about it yet.


I can see that I have some Mana-deficit, but decent voting power:

Screen Shot 2018-09-26 at 22.36.31.png

steem.supply

In my vocabulary mana is similar to power, but the use of the word mana sounds a little childish to me. Things might change when I get more used to it.


After the HF20 I have done a few things:

✒I have temporarily suspended my auto-upvotes until I have regained my strength, pardon, mana. I will recalibrate the rules after I have gained full strength. Do any of you have any recommended "vote delay"settings?
✒I jumped on the 50% saving on delegation of Steem Power from Blocktrades (90-day delegation of 4725.490 SP), so I will get more SP going forward.

by @janusface

Sort:  

@janusface,
Now I feel I am playing GOTHIC! The last time I heard about Mana at there lol :D Anyway, I will try to get an idea about WTF they brought in! Prof, hope you will get it first and let us know too! Anyway I am not upvoting anyone until I feel everything might be going well!

Cheers~

We survived HF20 :)

Another hurdle (still a few bumps) overcome on the way to the moon.

Indeed. To the Moon and beyond!

I agree that mana sounds pretty childish, but I get we will all get used to it within a month. Voting weight/strength/power could be very easy to mix up for people, so I'm glad that some of them got rebranded into a more unique name to make it more comprehensible for new people who join the blockchain.

In my vocabulary mana is similar to power, but the use of the word mana sounds a little childish to me. Things might change when I get more used to it.

I think the official term is "resource credits", but mana is easier to understand and explain for most of us :-)

As I understood it, all activity prior to the hardfork contributed to the "mana debt", while mana points were only collected after the hardfork. Hence, I had a massive "mana debt" due to the two years+ of posting, commenting, voting, editing my posts and comments, etc, so I couldn't do anything at all, not even powering up, nor removing delegations ... every action on the block chain costs RC ... I mean, mana :-)

If I understand it right, they also rolled out another software update (aka "emergency hard fork") to nullify any "mana debt". Without that update, it would still take weeks until I would be able to do anything, despite the fact that I do possess a fair amount of steem power ...

Sorry I'm letting my fkin manna reload before I start up voting agian!

I never tried the delegation thing, Is it a good deal?

It's 50 % off from Blocktrades right now, so it's probably as good of as deal as ever. If it's "worth" it or not really depends on what your value; you will probably not get your investment back unless you selfvote all the time, but you will get more influence on the blockchain.

Thanks, that sounds like not so good unless you're going to support a project or something!

Nope, I don't think it's generally good if you are looking for maximum profit on your investment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66518.22
ETH 3187.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05