Kind of annoyed at going to work, come home, pay bills, live life a little, and back to the LIFE GRIND

in #steem6 years ago

Are you living life like me? Work hard.. Pay bills. Live life on the weekend, and do it all over again each week?

work-eat-sleep.png

Let's not kid ourselves. After school is done, you get a job, you work. You eat. You sleep. You repeat.

...that's the way it is for most people. You do what you have to do...

Now when you are young (under 30) I get it.

As you grow older, the concept gets old pretty fast.

Doesn't it feel weird to commute in heavy traffic, work hard, only live life briefly each weekend?

If this seems wrong, you are correct.

However, there is no easy solution.

...unless you have some recommendations. I will be reading your comments.

Sort:  

I got fed up of this at 40, mid life crisis... i had been working like this for 12 years... had enough savings to last 2 years. I quit then reflected for 2 months on what i was good at and enjoyed, tried it, it worked a bit, found somthing else, it worked too. 6 month later, got my first check . 1 year later was earning more than my previous job and was a free man doing two activities i adore. 4 years now and my 1-man company is healthy. What it took: courage to make the big jump in the unknown... it was scary, but exhilirating at the same time. Definitely worth it, i am so much more alive in my forties than i was in my thirties!

Quite inspirational, glad you found a way to do what you love... :)

I have been considering the same situation... not ideal at all.

Might be worth trying to build a passive income source and then moving to a country that has lower cost of living (not sure where you live but i am in AU; it is pretty expensive).

I have been looking at Thailand. Seems like a nice place, friendly people, good food.. not sure about the heat though.

Going to be like hell there. lol

Passive incomes sound great. I bet they are fairly hard to obtain with almost no investment money. :)

The cost of living thing is surely something. My thoughts started last year when I visited Bali, and this year when I visited Panama. Both countries have a very low cost of living, so could easily be attractive to set up something there. For instance, in Panama you are allowed to have a bed and breakfast with 2 rooms max without being a resident. You only have to leave the country I think twice a year (correct me if I am wrong). So with not too much hassle you could have a nice income there, live like a king and manage how much you have to fill you B&B however you want. Same thing for Bali, I saw super nice 3 bedroom palaces for a yearly rent of 5000 US$ or so, and food is nearly free. If you have a small passive income you will easily have life as a king there.

My idea is to go to Switserland in a while(incomes are superduper high, (COL as well, but okay), cash like a boss there, and take a next step from there.
Yes, and all of these steps Im making up while living in the Caribbean, it could be worse right?
Just make a plan, and take your own justice!

You can also see it differently. You can use your talents to choose work you like and enjoy what you are doing. Work can be challenging and satisfying. I worked for 40 years in education as a teacher and as a principal and I really felt the job I did was important for my students. I mean teaching history was one thing, but being there for the students and mean something for them that was really important. As a principal, I tried to make the school a safe place where students and teachers felt comfortable and could be themselves. So I tried to ensure a good atmosphere. It was not always easy, but it worked and that was great.
Besides, it's important that there is also time to be with your family and friends and f.i. to study, so keep a balance, that's very important.

Keeping a balance can be difficult if you just let yourself develop a routine. It's just too easy to make every day seem like the next if you don't mix things up a bit. Good suggestion.

Amen intelliguy! (How much time ys got?!?

hey there, well for a start i stripped down all my outgoings to the basics so i can try to get ahead, obviously this means lowering overheads, re-learn new stuff, teach the stuff you know with courses online that bring you in residual until you can make the jump to working full time via digital means. i'm totally on that gravy train right now. working towards that each day!

Did you find the online courses the same as sitting in the classroom? Or have you not done them yet?

I make courses, not sit them, not been in a school classroom in a very long time!

moving to a developing country may work :) As an American, sometimes I find a lot of opportunities abroad. I just don't take them up because I love California too much.

its not all it crack up to be, i have visit almost all the lower 48 states, its all the same as cali, vegas is cheap there or az, dont like the heat? well portland.

im not a fan of other states really. the suburbs here is much nicer here than other states. i live 5 minutes away from gym, bank, schools.
Pho restaurants??!!! lets go get some pho.

Good pho is awesome. Most people haven't tried it which is a shame.

I hear a lot of expats get the "7 year itch", which means the newness wears off after 7 full years and then you start to get homesick. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14