You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [ATTN] Steem Content Creation/Curation Guilds! Could Beyond Bitcoin's New Tool Help Change the SteemGuild Paradigm?

in #steem8 years ago

To me the problem is that you have to join a guild. What if I don't want to join a guild?

We already have a reputation here on steemit. That can be used to help value the bonus a post receives.

I don't know. It's just a thought. I just feel like people won't want to write good content if they aren't getting a payout.

Sort:  

Then you forego the benefits of the infrastructure that guild utilizes to organize and empower itself through collective action.

Pretty straight forward really. It is kind of like me saying "the problem with making money is I have to work for a company...what if I dont want to work for a company?"
Because the answer would be the same--noone is forcing you to be a member of a guild, or work for a company. However, the majority of the population do want that.
So while I recognize your opinions, I also recognize that it is kind of actually a nonissue. :)

"I don't know. It's just a thought. I just feel like people won't want to write good content if they aren't getting a payout."

To this I would say: "they are getting a payout. nothing has changed on this front except the fact that people who focus on content areas of expertise will be able to more easily coordinate between one another to mitigate the "whale problem"."

In fact, with later phases of this solution, we could quite possibly enable new layers of economic activity that utilize coins for the guild IN ADDITION to the rewards directly earned from steem. Hope that helps clarify.

Hrmm... feels like we are adding a layer of complexity that doesn't need to be there to support guilds. As well as a layer of politics that doesn't need to be there either.

I'd rather have a system that's free from too much human bias.

In any case this is just my lone opinion and observation. I know it doesn't count for much. But I put it out there.

i actually think you're completely right in theory, and that what you're describing is/was the ideal version of steemit. but i think one of the reasons stuff like this is needed is because there are already identifiable problems that would prevent a true "free market" to succeed.

the idea is very appealing though...it actually makes me very curious to see what a truly free/open/decentralized platform would evolve into.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59117.01
ETH 2525.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48