Progression Into The Future, My Thoughts on HF20

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Things are slowly coming back to a normal pace within the Steem ecosystem of decentralized applications. It's been a rough couple weeks for everyone on the platform. But the Witnesses are running , the chain is working normally now, and now people have enough vote power to communicate and transact with each other. It's never easy for any large website to have so much downtime. But in this time I reflected about the past 8 months on Steemit. I've seen many people join , and many of them leave, but even so I still have made many lasting friends who have stuck through the difficult moments.

2015_June_23_-_Northern_Lights_Timelapse_(18470141333).jpg
Source

The power of Delegated Proof of Stake communications is obvious by the amount of passionate people wanting to do anything they possibly can to improve the Steem experience and help other Steemians, as well as bring others into the platform so they can join in and also bring value.

The negatives are far outweighed by the positives. The positive experiences are overwhelming, many have made connections on Steemit they have never been able to make on any other social media. It's a true melting pot. Steem may have a top-drop structure and more downtime because of bugs than say Bitcoin. But these are just teething issues.

It all takes time. Promoting a positive culture and incubating that takes a lot of time to do, and it hasn't been successful inside larger social media platforms like Facebook. Facebook started off as a hot or not rating site for people who wanted to rate the beauty of other humans. Promoting a culture that enables creators to earn money, while at the same time not enabling an entitlement attitude is not easy.

Hardfork 20 is taking one another critical step forward. I'm looking to the future. I believe Steem, the blockchain is coming back to being active as it was pre-fork. Today, the network is working as intended. It has not been an easy road to get here, so I thank everyone who puts in time and effort, as well as capital into keeping the Steem blockchain going.

Sort:  

It has been a rough week , but I always amazed at the ‘now’ generation we live in and yes I include myself in this . I still remember before we had computers and when I finally got my first one sitting there patiently waiting 5 minutes for the next page to load , the mere startup process took about 10 minutes and sometimes I’d be on it for an hour and finally get to what I want just to be told it’s time for bed. Now if we can not access it this second you can guarantee you or someone will be jumping up and down about it. So much for patience. Or maybe I’m just talking about myself again . Either way I agree with your post . Keep fighting the good fight my friend . I’m glad to have meet you through one love dtube .

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for appreciation... that seems difficult to come by these days

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, it's been a rough couple of weeks on the blockchain, but it seems to be back to pretty much normal now. There sure was a lot of FUD around this hardfork, and crypto prices, but I think it's going to get better as we move toward winter.

super cool and encouraging brother, thanks for the update and perspective, you have a gift to make people feel good and I appreciate you big time

We are still here...
so yes, let's look forward
together

I have to agree with you about the melting pot analogy; the lack of substance was the very reason I got rid of Myspace as a teenager and never got back into social media. This platform seems different, and in the very best of ways, too. I hope to contribute more and more as I spend time learning and understanding the potential of this unique system.

There is a lot to it.

This post was upvoted by @steemybot, Send at least 0.01 STEEM or SBD and get an upvote. Join my discord server for free weighted upvoting for each post, just put the command !upvote before the web address of the post and you will get a free upvote within 2 mins.

@steemybot our mission is to support high quality posts which will raise the value of the STEEM Blockchain.

Well yeah. Theres a saying in my country.... (a loose translation)

The person that can bite will never go hungry.

We all "bite" in our own way, one help others, others write, do community projects, promote steem, all kinds of stuff.
HF20 didnt really add much to the user experience that can be seen on the surface level, what it did do i think is filter the trash a bit. Those that would eventually fall off, and those that spam excessively.
It cleaned the community a bit and empowered those that are here for the long run. Those that bite. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05