When STEEM Goes Down

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Everything Else Goes Down With It

All I have is anecdotal evidence to make this point with, but consider these "facts."

a) The number of posts in my Steemit feed has declined, and with it, the number of posts that I feel I can interact with. Meaning, I apparently need to get better versed with a lot more things. The point is, this all started when STEEM started to fall.

b) My production has gone down. Which is crazy, since I thought I controlled that. Nope. It's STEEM.

c) The amount of rewards on my posts and comments have gone WAY down. I'm not talking just the $. I'm talking about the number of people upvoting, too. This actually might be affected by the price of STEEM. (I'm still not sure why newbies with virtually no STEEM are trying to give me 1-10% votes, though.)

d) The number of comments on my posts are down. This would be per post, which should still be up, if it weren't for that meddling STEEM.

e) The amount I can reward others is down and so is my voting power, no matter how low I put that dang slider! STEEM, I know you're responsible for this!

f) My computer is slower. Better said, my browsers. They'll seize up for about a minute while I'm in the middle of writing or just opening up a window. Since two tabs of one browser window is dedicated to watching STEEM and SBD prices, I know STEEM is directly responsible for that!

g) Steemit, Busy and Steemd were all slow or just plain down. Less STEEM, less speed. Pure and simple.

h) Buying STEEM is slow. The transaction process seemed to drag on forever the last two days. When STEEM was higher, they couldn't wait to take my money like elite cat burglars in a collector's mansion, but now that the price is down at $2 USD or below, it's almost like they can't stand the sight of my stinkin' cash.

Stoplight downtown.JPG
Image source—Glen Anthony Albrethsen on my iPhone 6s

i) Even this stoplight this morning was slow. As you can clearly see, there were no cars anywhere. Just me and the guy you can't see beside me. There's nothing like a stoplight at 7:05 AM on Saturday morning to get the old hackles up!

(Wait. Where did that truck come from?! It wasn't there when I took the picture! Dang photobomber making me look bad!)

STEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEM!

j) Finally, I'm slower. Age, what I just ate, and my overall slowness to begin with can't be the reasons. I blame you STEEM!

Lovely Rant. Wholly Without Merit, But Lovely Nonetheless

I actually do feel somewhat better. It's always nice to have something or someone to blame for what's going on in the world. STEEM seems like as good a culprit as any this morning.

It occurs to me, though, that this is precisely what we want, right? STEEM affecting all aspects of our lives. I was hoping it would be more positive, but I guess you've got to start somewhere.

So, now we all have something to look forward to when the price of STEEM goes back up and everything gets faster. Personally, I'm looking to break some land speed records in my new Asics when the price of STEEM hits $1,000 USD.

P.S. I wasn't going to bring this up, but did anyone else notice that this last tanking debacle started right around the Ides of March? Beware, friend. Beware.

Sort:  

This is a 'keep going' nod from one of those newbies with a 0.01 or less upvote.

A journey of a thousand miles starts with one cent. Oops ! I meant, step.

It started about a month or so ago, I think, where who got in late January early February started hitting posts or comments with 10% upvotes. I found it kind of odd. At 100% you have a chance of leaving $.01 depending on where STEEM is, but STEEM would have to go up quite a bit before that real newbie gets to $.01 with a 10% vote.

Thanks for the kind words. My part of Steemit has been awfully quiet lately (blaming STEEM) and I was starting to think I might have the plague, or someone had put a pox on my blog. :)

Does this mean you're loading up on even more Steem? You're going to be a whale in no time at this rate. :)

Yeah, life can be confusing and difficult, but then the prices go back up and Steem is our friend again. Ha ha

For me to officially become a whale, STEEM would have to fall to roughly a halfpenny. I could probably get into lower Orca if the price fell to a penny.

I wouldn't call it loading up exactly, but I actually have bought more, and with STEEM under $1.80, would like to do so again, but I'm already beyond the point where my wife gets mad at me for putting too much in, so I might have to hold for a few weeks. Unless STEEM hits a dollar or less. Then I probably do get some more. :) We'll see. I've been fighting back and forth with myself. It's not like I have the money to be doing any of this really, but I believe in it, so I figure I should do something about it.

Yeah, if it got under $1, I would probably have to figure out how to buy some. What process do you normally use to to buy more?

I'm really liking having the price lower. I can almost feel the extra SP for posts and such.

Not sure exactly what you mean by process. There's not really any method to my madness, other than probably pure insanity. Since I jumped in way too late (for STEEM pricing) which ended up being way too early (for lower pricing), I've been trying to knock down my average price as much as I can with smaller buys as dips seem to occur.

I have no analysis or way to predict any of that other than watching the STEEM market bounce up and down. :)

If you're talking about how I go about purchasing the STEEM, since you can't go straight from USD (that I know of—the one place you could doesn't appear to do it anymore), I've been using Coinbase to buy Litecoin (since it has lower fluctuations in price than the other available crypto) and then converting it in to STEEM with Blocktrades.

It's more complicated than I like and I stress over it every time I do it, but so far, I've managed to get things moving from A to B to C to D without losing too much more than the fees.

I sure hope someone comes up with a straight from USD to STEEM solution soon. This conversion stuff is just plain dumb.

Yeah, that's what I was wondering about. I haven't really felt up to taking the little money I have and going through that whole process. It's a pain. I really think they should come up with a site or even ATM that would allow you to walk up, deposit cash, and get crypto from it. It would just deposit straight to your account.

Yeah, all the conversion stuff would be annoying.

I might have accidentally corrupted our time-space compendium! Sorry!!!

  • Yesterday, I put instant coffee in the microwave
    • and actually went went back in time...

Perhaps the slowing of everything you are experiencing is simply mother nature trying to compensate for my mess up!

  • So, sorry!
    • It will NOT happen again, I promise...

BTW Cool new tag you found... #smartphonephotography

  • I may start using that! Thanks!

I'd prefer to blame everything on STEEM, but hey, I appreciate you offering to take the fall. I don't believe in time travel, but if I did, instant coffee in a microwave is as good a catalyst as any. :)

There's several of the "something" photography tags floating around. I've used the smartphone a couple of times now. It seemed appropriate since I used mine.

I think you're on to something. This morning it was really slow going on the john. So that's kind of crappy. Then my truck: it has 320,000 miles on it and is losing Steem. And, well my girlfriend definitely says I'm losing Steem. And it is taking longer to write anything. And I've noticed that my posts are, well...they should have catapulted me to at least dolphin level by now. I mean its been almost 7 weeks since I came on board. WTH! Raining here too by the way. But not much power in those clouds, just kind of dripping wet from the sky. Steem again? Blessings. Hmnn.... lets see if I can get that slider down to .001!

Great minds and so forth. I think if we sat down and really thought about it, we could come up with a ton of things we could just blame on STEEM.

I've seen all kinds of accounts giving 0.02% or other fractions of percentages. I thought the slider might upgrade when you hit Orca status or something. But then I saw Minnows and smaller doing it, and I thought, What the...?!? I'm not 100% sure because I don't use it, but apparently there's a phone app that allows for the fractions.

From what I can tell, though, you can set the amount for a fraction, like 0.02%, but the amount rewarded is the same as 1%, so I don't know what that's all about.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 17:01:02
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 23.20/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Beautiful photography

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00