What is the Best exchange for Turning Steem to BTC?

in #steem7 years ago


Source

I have used Bittrex twice and with very good results. But now I just went and looked at their new policy and I can't withdraw any money unless I have two factor authentication or upload a selfie of myself plus some ID document or a passport. Well the 2FA I consider dumb, at least in my country Honduras, I believe you carry it around in your cell phone. Well cell phones are one of the most looked after things by thieves because then they can be used for extortion purposes in this crime ridden country. So I am not going to use this option, it is too risky for me.

I tried the other option I uploaded my ID and my selfie and then I uploaded my passport (images of course) but they were not accepted by whatever soft ware they are using. Granted my ID pictures are different cause they are at least 12 years old and the biggest difference is my hair turned white, this was immediately after I stopped drinking, but I believe these type of software use some kind of face recognition. Anyway I am not going through the hassle of obtaining new ID just for this, anyway we are in an election year and the government will not be issuing any more ID's until next year and buying a passport just for this is illogical.

So Bittrex is out for me right now, then there is Poloniex, I do have an account there, but I have never used it, so I don't know if they also want all of this ID things, and also I am not sure if they are not going to hold my Steem for a couple of months without me being able to access it, because they did have this problem, I don't know if they still do.

Then there is blocktrades, I wonder if this one would work? You see after I send my Steem I need to exchange it for BTC and then send this BTC to localbitcoins.com where I can then sell it to anyone and receive my money in USD in different ways. Blocktrades looks like a straightforward site, I send the Steem and apparently they will then send the BTC to any address I have given them. Now is this site trustworthy? I have never used it, also are the fees OK or are they too high?

Now these are the exchanges I know of, @everittdmickey suggested I don't exactly remember it was coin something which sends the money directly to your bank, I looked into it but unfortunately they don't do business in Honduras.

So anyone out there has more options for exchanging Steem to BTC and then being able to send it to localbitcoins? I have heard of a couple other exchanges but have seen no reviews. I guess it would be interesting if anyone who has had this type of experience let's me know, it would be very useful for me as well as for other people.

Sort:  

I use BlockTrades now..bittrex...like you said.

Is blocktrades really as easy as it seems? I mean just send Steem and they will send to whatever BTC wallet you have given them? I don't know if they send you USD, I would need BTC and give them my localbitcoins BTC address. Also are their fees OK?

yup...they are that easy.
you give them a valid address...tell them what crypto you want converted to another crypto (they have a list)...

Wham ..bam..thank you ma'am....it's done...rilly quick.
dunno what you would consider 'ok fees'....I didn't really notice they were much different than bittrex (didn't check closely)

Nope..they don't send USD..

additional caution...always try it FIRST with a very small amount...just to make sure you got it right. If you screw it up...it's gone....best to loose a little and not a lot.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gduran from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94