How rude is it to comment on a post or reply to a comment without voting?

in #steem7 years ago

I don't think many of us do this on main posts but for replying to comments I find myself acting like I am on reddit and just commenting and not bothering to upvote. At least I used to, until it happened to me a few times. I would get a positive response, and as we all do since we are addicted, I check to see if my comment got upvoted. And I got to say it doesn't feel great when someone replies to your comment but hasn't gone to the trouble to vote.


source pixabay

So from now on when I reply to a post I make sure to consider upvoting it. As you might imagine not all comments you reply do deserve your vote. I will even on occasion downvote/report a comment, although I rarely do that as there is a small cost to yourself and I am worried about retaliation downvotes, so I reserve reports for truly toxic posts. So for comments that I don't like I generally just leave no vote.

The thing I feel people don't use enough is the slider to graduate the level of your upvote, I can understand not wanting to upvote bland comment with 100% of your vote, it fact I should say for the really bland comments 'I enjoyed your beautiful post' I don't upvote and I am very tempted to downvote as they likely didn't even read your post and are just fishing, but for a comment that doesn't have much content but shows that they at least scanned your post, they get something in the range of 10-50%.

To get my 100% upvote for a comment I like to see real engagement with my post, whether the person agreed with me or not, liked the post or not. Something like making a suggestion how to improve it, or even give a reason why they didn't like it.

What about you guys what do you do about voting on comments. Just Oprah it?


source

Sort:  

I do upvote comments from time to time, but if you're very active on here, there will be many comments and I understand people not upvoting them all. I don't feel offended when people don't do this, especially when it's like an entire conversation through comments.

Yes, the slider is a big help and I always slide down the percentage a lot, because otherwise I'd drain my voting power and I simply don't want to do that. I think most people feel the same, which is why not all comments get upvoted.

A conversation is worth something too :-)

When the conversation goes into more replies I don't tend to vote, but now I think about it I can't think why. maybe as you said it's more like a conversation and the voting each time breaks it up.

I agree. I am pretty active and I should probably consider getting the slider. Do you mind directing me to where I can download it?

You get the slider once you reach a certain amount of Steem Power. I'm not sure at what point that is exactly though. I think I read 500 somewhere...

Yeah, this bothers me a bit too, but even more so when I've upvoted their comment and there is no reciprocation.

me too, but it does make me feel petty, I definitely care more about a few cent on steemit than a few hundred on my rent

It's funny how that works. I don't think it's the money for me as much as it is courtesy. It's like when I hold the door for someone and they walk in without saying thank you. I know I should just let it go, but it's hard not getting a little annoyed.

I guess thinking more about it, it is acknowledgment for the work you put into the post, so even though it is just a few cent it means a lot. by the same logic for a comment I don't put in that much work so I shouldn't really care if it doesn't get a 'pat on the head'

When I commented on a post, I always upvoted the post. But when I replied to a comment, I do not necessary upvote that comment. That is not being rude. When we replied to each other comments, we are interacting and engaging with each other. To me that is enough reward.

But what's the difference so, why is interacting and engaging with the post not reward enough?

I totally understand what you are saying, for me the only time/reason I don't up vote the original post is I've run out of voting power.

For the past two days I couldn't comment, couldn't resteem or up vote on anything because my steem power had gotten too low. It drove me crazy.

So many posts to like but no power to do it, gets very frustrating, very fast.

If you are running out of voting power try set your voting percentage lower

Okay thanks. :D

ahahah get it , but sometime we newbies are running out of vointg power and cant buy any voting power with real cash so have to wait until get this power back
thanks a lot for sharing upvoted and followed feel free to visit and read and follow as well

If you are running out of voting power try set your voting percentage lower

thanks for the tips i am looking right now how to do so thank you fivebo

i am sorry but i not get i am looking every where but i not understand how to do so

To comment on a comment or post without an upvote on it is perhaps a little rude, after all you will be expecting votes and comments on your comments...right. Votes will only go so far yes, but if what you comment on is worthy of your comment then why not your vote?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83