Steem's little brother is growing up

in #steem6 years ago


What's going on??

Did someone went back into the past, and trapped a buttefly or something?

SBD, Steem' s little brother. That currency that is supposed to be trading for around a dollar. Has decided to take a big leap, and is almost touching the 9$.

How further?

What implications could this have?

The Steem block-chain is programmed to 'control' the damage. And will be trying to push SBD back to $1.

So whatever caused this massive jump, eventually the price should go back down right?

This could be problematic if new users, unaware of the technology behind Steem, start buying SBD because they don't understand the difference between Steem and SteemDollar

Sort:  

Seems to me the value of a dollar is dropping not versus Fiat currency's but versus the cryptos.I truly believe It's time to start comparing your crypto's versus other crypto's then versus the US dollar and you have been voted

True. Very interested to see how long SBD holds the inflated value.

You can sell some of SBD on exchanges to collect the premium. Bottom line, enjoy while it lasts and "...if they want to pay more than 1 USD for 1 SBD let them be..." :-)

While the prices are inverted like this, should I switch from 100% SP on my posts to the 50/50 option?

I'm sorry I wouldn't know answer on this, I'm too green :-)

What would be the smart move for someone holding a few SBD?

I converted some to steem direct through the wallet. Look, you get around 6.5 (that's what I was getting few hours ago) steem for every SBD. And steem is close to 2$. You get over 10$ for one SBD, I couldn't pass on this. :-)

That's hard to say, the current events unfold exactly the opposite of how Steems growth was intended.

Which makes it extra hard to predict what a good strategy will be for the near future.

I understand that SBD way above Steem price is not good long term for the Steemit. Or so I was told. But I'm too green to understand enough on this subject. So what I did, may not be the best. Although, short term i'm happy with it ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87