The downvote pool seems to not be working as promised

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

brok.JPG

I just tested if we really start draining our upvote pool after we did 2.5 100% downvotes in one day.

EDIT: From what I have heard and read a week later it is not broken, but I am still pissed about the ability to downvote someone into oblivion if you use all 12.5 downvotes (which will regenerate in 5 days) in just one day.

This is what they told us pre HF 21. I am surprised to find out that the downvote pool is completely broken. It is not working as promised. It seems we can do more than 10 100% downvotes per day without drawing from our upvote pool.

I saw bots doing more than 2.5 100% downvotes per day and decided to try if they are really wasting their voting power on downvotes. Turns out they are not...

I did 3 100% downvotes in a time period of 15min and my voting power stayed exactly the same. This should not be possible.

down.JPG

The downvote power we can see on steemd.com seems to be accurate. The three 100% downvotes cost me approx. 8% downvote power each (3x8=24). But it should have depleted my downvote power to 0% and reduced my voting power by one 50% vote.

I really don't know why not more people have noticed this yet?

UPDATE: The downvote pool seems to be 25% of the entire upvote pool which equals a lot more downvotes than 2.5 100% downvotes per day. When talking about the hard-fork I only ever read about 2.5 downvotes (1/4 of the upvotes per day that are recharged after 24h) per day. 25% is way too much. We can now do 10 upvotes and 12.5 downvotes per day??? That's ridiculous. I am not yet sure that it really recharges 12.5 downvotes in a day, but we can do 12.5 downvotes in a day!

Sort:  

I noticed that something wasn't quite right yesterday when I made 4 downvotes with no consequence to my voting power that I could see.

That's weird...thanks for alerting us, resteemed for better diffusion

That's not how it is designed. You get a new set of voting mana
image.png

If you check out your account on steemd.com/@yourname

You will see if you vote more than 2.5 times, it just runs down your downvotes for the next days. If you use roughly 20% a day it will regenerate. If you use more than that it will take longer to regenerate

I see that now, but it also means that you can do 12.5 downvotes in one day to destroy an account. Yeah sure, you use the downvotes of the next days, but this is very bad in my opinion. And I think the communication was different.

I think what was stated is that you get 2.5 free votes a day. (that's how the regeneration works.)

Pretty sure it is working as designed.
Destroy an account seems like a dramatic way to put it, while you could downvote 12 times on one account you would have nothing left in the next days, meaning the account wouldn't be destroyed at all. Rather it would have to have enough open items to have rewards on 12 posts or comments to remove. Once that hit was over there wouldn't be much more the overly zealous downvoter could do.

He could still use his voting power to downvote even more...
I am really not sure that it was communicated as only 2.5 regeneration rate. I think (and probably a lot of others too) thought it would be limited to 2.5 free downvotes per day.

My point isn't to say whether or not it is well designed or not.

Was just saying I think it is working as designed.

The chain didnt seem to work as promised.. ^^

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @ew-and-patterns! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3500 replies. Your next target is to reach 3750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85