Midnight Breath

in #steem5 years ago

Whew... I have a bit of time to gather some thoughts. It is in the middle of the night (alright posting time delayed till morning though), in the middle of a crazy swirl of coordination, and I'll be glad when it's all over. I might talk about it later, we'll see.

About the current situation. Yeah, it certainly looks bad, alright. I don't really have much to add to general sentiment, but I'm still fairly optimistic about STEEM. Why? Because in the end, nothing fundamental has changed. Yes, blockchain feature delays, but I see the recent direction as being of higher importance. Why weren't those things (things to minimize the cost of running infrastructure) prioritized anyway? Because of a push for the feature (SMT), thinking that the team could afford to do so. At least that's my reading of it.

In my estimation, the effect of the price drop should just be speculators that were banking on faster SMTs (is that everyone? It certainly doesn't appear that way). It's not that SMTs will not come though, they seem to be scoping the new timelines out. But there's one thing that I haven't heard mentioned yet: STEEM isn't the only token slowed down by the bear market. We'll see how it plays out.

You might also point to status quo as a bad thing. As is, it's a failed experiment. What, is the experiment over already? I guess I should go back to real life then. But actually, we will see how the platform evolves in these conditions as well. Certainly we should see if any behavior is going to change. After all, people thought simply investing a ton and passively generating income was going to be guaranteed profit. Silly... Didn't anyone warn them (those greedily banking on passive income methods) that nothing is guaranteed, especially when it comes to crypto?

I didn't want to end on a sour note, so... I'll just say that I've been doing some sneaky work here and there though. Namely, more tinkering with steem keychain integration with condenser codebase. My mini-accomplishment is fixing a particular issue with the integration of steem keychain and the production condenser (here if you want details). After this, or something similar, gets released, we can spin up many flavors of condensers without having to rely on trusting a website. I should be making a more detailed post about it in the future.

But yeah okay, this isn't a big deal compared to the cost issues that have recently been brought to light, but hey, it's something.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

After all, people thought simply investing a ton and passively generating income was going to be guaranteed profit. Silly

Wait. I thought all I had to do was delegate my SP to vote sellers and my lambo would be on its way?

So, you're telling me there's more to building a sustainable platform with strong and enduring communities? Like maybe curating contributions of community members instead of locking away my SP in a bot?

Sounds crazy but just might be crazy enough to work. 🤔

Personally, the communities are one of the strongest selling points of Steem. Without them, we are nothing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha! Quiet with all that crazy talk, we don't want people to learn from the secret crazy do we? Passive steem to riches all the way!

Posted using Partiko Android

Steem is indeed struggling, we are not in top 50 anymore but it is fine with me as long as team is setting their priorities right. They already failed to plan in advance because if they had, they would not have been in a financial crisis right now. Another thing which they should be focusing on is to create revenue streams. They should really have a good revenue stream so that they don't get caught up with the daily fluctuations of Steem price. If they are able to figure it out, I am sure investor confidence will return.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have invested so much time here, cannot and Won't let go if only to keep on touch with my friends here. I will see on the go. Worst case scenario sites come and go but you can choose to stay "connected"

Yup! I agree. I'll be somewhere out there haha...

Posted using Partiko Android

I like that you'll be :)

eondenser.io ?

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @eonwarped!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.798 which ranks you at #1362 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 275 contributions, your post is ranked at #30.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post was upvoted by SteeveBot!

SteeveBot regularly upvotes stories that are appreciated by the community around Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87