Listing of Your Entire Body of Posts

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Did you ever wonder back on your whole history of posts? Maybe you went to your feed and scrolled and scrolled and scrolled, and noticed something strange. "Hey! Where are my other posts???" you ask. Yes, in some cases, the feed stops loading. Then you scream in horror because you never saved the data, but then you scream slightly less because you remembered that the blockchain is immutable, but now are wondering how you can get to them. The always reliable https://steemd.com has your whole history, but it's unwieldy to get just what you've posted. What's the deal?

So for those that are following issues tracked on GitHub, this is the issue: https://github.com/steemit/condenser/issues/1109
It's got an understandably lower priority because this is not a common action for people to be doing.

I need a stronger box if I'm going to poke around this problem. Steemd does not compile on my current cheap puny VPS. But maybe would be a good starting point for me. I'll see if I have time later for it.

But what I can do is hack something together that basically crawls the account history and extracts the posts. And I've done that here:

https://eonwarped.github.io/steem/allposts.html?account=eonwarped

Screenshot_20180711-215756~2.png

This is what it looks like. A small convenient counter at the bottom as well.

Just replace my steemit name with anyone you are curious about. There may be some timeout for those with a ton of account history, haven't really fully explored.

Does anyone know if this already exists in one of the many tools out there? I'd prefer to not keep hosting this here permanently, and would be happy to give anyone else a JavaScript snippet to paste (will soon be on my GitHub page)

Anyway, if you had this problem and need a quick fix, here you go (for now).

Shout out to @enchantedspirit for recently raising the issue to begin with in The Steem Engine discord.


Updates

Now shows timestamp, shows tags. Example:
https://eonwarped.github.io/steem/allposts.html?account=eonwarped&tags=dog,dogs

Note that it takes the last-edited time, not the posted time at the moment.

(7/16) Added github link. For large account history, this page can take awhile, but I fixed an issue by switching to use dsteem so that it had better error handling. Before if there was a failure it would crash the server, funny....

Edit again: Now hosted on a github page! It also now shows results as they come instead of having to wait for it all to be available.

https://eonwarped.github.io/steem/allposts.html?account=eonwarped&tags=dog,dogs

Code is at https://github.com/eonwarped/eonwarped.github.io/blob/master/steem/allposts.html

Sort:  

gonna check this out! Always needed an easier way to see my old posts

Great idea!

I can't begin to tell you how valuable this is. I want this, I want this, I want this. If necessary I will see if we can host it on our server. I'll talk to Cw and see what it takes because this is worth its weight in diamonds. I'm serious.

great post

I love this. I know it can be exhausting to keep adding on things according to everybody's suggestion, but at the risk of being somewhat belligerent, I also have a request.

Would it be possible to also have the markdown text available for the links? example:

[ Scam scam scammy scam ICO Ice Cream] (https://steemit.com/@eonwarped/scam-scam-scammy-scam-ico-ice-cream)

Oh good idea! I'll make it an option.

That's awesome! So convenient.

So simple... yet so valuable.
Its these small problem fixes that make the user experience so much better. I kinda think the steemit userface should have a simple button that takes you to this kind of page.
"Blog post history."

Hm. Like filtering resteems? I have something for that, but yeah it has the same problem of not holding all history. Tricky... but maybe if they fix the issue in their nodes it could just work. Not sure.

Sweet! I had to use the tags param to get it to display anything, not sure if that's by design.

Nope, you found a bug and now it's fixed. Thanks :)

It's a refreshing change to be a finder-of rather than generator-of bugs.

I was certain there was a straightforward way to do this using the REST API, but it appears there isn't. Nice job.

@eonwarped awesome work there ! been looking around how to get this. Is there a way to sort by posts tag and by views ?

waiting for steemworld search update feature to include those.

@eonwarped Awesome man !! you're so efficient

steemit used to have the eye icon which show the view count of post but been missing for quite awhile. Any alternative to add some codes or tools to check our post views ? or tools to sort out popular post by views

oh 1 more thing if you can add it, sort by post payout (highest to lowest)?

Yeah should be easy to add to any of the utility sites. Views I don't think that data is anywhere, but posts tag should be doable. I'll look into it.

Thank you, I hope I can view the date and time of post as well!

This is now done.

Thank you, I will check! :)

Yes that's something I want to add more immediately. Looking into it :)

This, my dear @eonwarped – is pretty fuckin' damn brilliant.

I didn't even know I needed the thing until you showed me it was lacking.

steemit-posts(rw)-10.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13