My dad doesn’t believe in steemit

in #steem7 years ago

confused.jpg

I guess most of you have already been through this and you can totally relate to this post. Here’s a story of my attempt to convince my dad to join steemit. :P

My dad is a principal in a school and he is occupied with his work most of the time. So, I thought introducing him to this community would help him get rid of work stress somehow and he would enjoy sharing thoughts and interacting with people here. So, I told him about steemit. And it was no surprise to me that he didn’t believe it.

I told him that we get paid for writing good contents here but he instead backfired me saying “If it was so easy to earn, everyone in the world would probably leave their job and just start writing and posting here.” I tried to make him understand but he tried to warn me. He thought it’s a scam and I’d been trapped by someone. He told me not to waste my time on this and invest it in doing something productive. He wasn’t ready to hear what I was explaining. He even told me to visit the doctor to get checked because he thought I was having some problem. (He wasn’t serious about that though. :p).

ItsNotAScam.jpeg

He wanted to know how we just got money in bank accounts out of nowhere. And I tried to explain him about the blockchain and cryptocurrency and how it works and blah blah. But then he wasn’t also ready to hear. He asked me for evidence when I told him that my friends have been paying for university fees with the money made on steemit. He asked me to show some kind of statement of bank that proved money in steemit being transferred to the person’s account. And I told him I would give him the evidence after I earned a decent amount and withdrew that money. None of my family members has really believed it. And I’m waiting to prove them wrong, especially dad.

64212366.jpg

When I had first heard about steemit from my friend, I was quite surprised but I didn’t react like this at all. I guess it’s just the human nature that we don’t really trust anyone or anything anymore once we’ve been betrayed. As I was telling my dad about steemit, he told me about how he had been fooled before like that. And it’s true that that are various websites which have turned out to be scams. And that’s why he wasn’t ready to believe me. The amount of resistance he was showing was kind of disappointing though. But I’m looking forward to actually proving him this.

I hope the good people of steemit can help me enlighten my good reluctant dad.

Image sources: http://flywithshaunak.com/funny-but-true-observations-on-family-indian-wedding/
https://memegenerator.net/instance/64212366/victory-baby-show-me-the-proof-i-need-evidence
http://www.workathomenoscams.com/2012/03/26/top-3-reasons-its-not-a-work-at-home-scam/

Sort:  

does Steemit believe in your dad?

LOL

kkkkkkkkkkk... Very good!

Welcome Elisha to steemit! Here are a few posts that may help your dad better understand how it all works:

https://steemit.com/steem/@teamsteem/the-ultimate-steem-guide
https://steemit.com/steem/@teamsteem/steem-an-in-depth-overview

And as for "central banking", perhaps this video by @dollarvigilante (currently one of steemit's most followed users) will help set your dad straight:

Throughout history there have been alternative currencies. As long as people accept them, they have even become the major currency when governments inevitably crash and burn. Now, this is not to suggest any crypto currency as an "investment" (certainly not at these levels), but the only real qualifier for "money" is the confidence people have in accepting it as a "means of exchange".

Finally, as your dad is a school principal, I feel compelled to share this with you and your dad as well...

https://steemit.com/creativity/@alexpmorris/do-schools-kill-creativity

I'll certainly share these with my dad. Actually, cryptocurrency isn't known to many people here in Nepal. That's why it was unbelievable to my dad. I hope these will help. :D

I'd love to had the 2 article Alex commented have reach the top trending post the day they were posted so they were very well receive by those who have the most to lose and gain from Steemit success.

Oh wow...my husband made me cash out to make him believe that it was actually real money! Take him out to dinner with your Steem money to make him believe! Make him sit with you while you cash out some Steem and then show him when it's paid into your bank account.

I was actually thinking of doing that. Thanks for the suggestion. :D

expLAIN IT TO ME PLEASE.gif
experience the same a while ago. nice post very relatable.

Thanks for reading and commenting. :)

Tell your father he shall receive a visit from three spirits. That's how I get my dad to believe in stuff.

Lol

lol! I'm sorry but I have no idea about the three spirits. I'll try reading about it. Thanks! :D

@elishagautam My dad actually got me in to Steemit, he started about a week ago and is pretty sold. If your dad read into the FAQ's and how it works, I bet he'd be into too!

That's great. So, you are new here? Welcome to this great community! :D

Yeah, thanks! New as of yesterday!

Show him that he just made you over $100 lol

I think I should thank him for that. lol

this is real truth..parents find it difficult believing any gist relating to crypto-currency.

Probably. First time happening with me. :)

Fair enough on his part. Anyone investing in steem is doing so out of sheer speculation.
In other news, I actually did convince my dad to get in on it...

Great. I hope my dad will be convinced if I provide him the evidence he was asking for. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34