Wild Swings In The Markets Today For STEEM - Both Outside And Inside The Platform

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

If you look at the 30 minutes STEEM chart on Bittrex it looks like a child was left unattended with two pieces of chalk, one green and one red, playing a game where the only rule is to draw straight lines, no matter the reason:


Screen Shot 2018-02-10 at 2.20.22 PM.png


There are some wild fluctuations today, and the SBD pumping may be sending ripples to its grandfather, the STEEM itself, in an unpredictable way.

As for the internal market, things are even stranger. I wanted to place an order earlier, selling a small amount of SBD, and the price shown was 0.89. I wanted to try a higher price, so I went with 1.1 and here's what I got:


Screen Shot 2018-02-10 at 2.17.49 PM.png


Kinda neat, I would say. In a way.

Nevertheless, I placed the order at 1.0 and then it was filled - and listed in the filled orders - at 0.89, but the actual amount was 1.0. So please pay attention to your orders placed on the internal market, folks!

I will keep an eye on this as I think it's quite strange.

Later edit: the price is right on the internal market, only I was expecting it in reverse, STEEM / SBD, as it is in steem.supply. So the internal market is correct, but the volatility thing is still real, so trade safely.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here

Sort:  

Thank you for this note, very strange, I will look closely to try to understand, seem some are playing a strange pumping game!!!

Earlier I have made a small trade and it was pretty okay I think:

Paid 10.024 SBD for 10.930 STEEM

But I have kept a small amount of SBD in case it doubles its price overnight :)

I noticed this as well this morning when I was trying to power up. It's going a little zig-zag :)

Is that a glitch in the operating system then do you think? I was just offered 1.126 for 1 SBD. 😊

It's just price fluctuation. The market is very volatile.

Blimey. That really is volatility if it can change that much in the time it takes to make a trade!

Some rockies set ridiculous sell order, you know? It happens occasionally.

That's actually a correct price. If you look at steem.supply you get as high as 1.154 .

thanks for staying us updated friend, yes the market is so volatile today and it's difficult to trade and i will trade carefully in internal market.

Well it is kinda good for us though for the i.market !
Few more green bars would be nice of rising ;)

You said right sir if i look 30 minutes steem chart
Looking like was left unattedend of two piece of chalk .very nice ..
Thank you

Thanks for sharing information
SBD is going up
And its Time to hold For more growth of SBD
Soon it will go on peak

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77