You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can We End Radio Silence...Together?

in #steem7 years ago

I came across this I think rather randomly tonight but what a synchronisitic thing because I am feeling this right now, too. I just entered the working from home world, and its been quite the adjustment. I have been writing out this same type of vulnerable stuff on my blog as well, and I even wrote the phrase , "thats where the magic happens," i believe! With a picture of Oprah, no less, lol.

I have been mulling around this idea of "It Takes a Village" as a theme for a group or community or curation. But reading your post got me thinking ... what do I need right now, if i listen to my inner voice? What kind of support do I want? And what I would really like is to find people, especially other women who have been down this path before, that I am just embarking on, that I can swap feedback with. What I seek is akin to a community of practice, or like a seminar, which is what we call it in my field. A group of people who check in and support each other through the questions and issues they run into as they do their work. something beyond upvotes and curation...something a little more focused than socializing, but less formal than a class or support group. It would help to process the things that get us stuck, and those vulnerable questons we have.

I think video conferencing could be a way to create this because I think seeing peoples faces helps so much. That might be beyond some people's comfort zone but I am throwing this out there on your post to see what you think.

There are some great Discord communities to join, and I have made a lot of friendships there. The voice channels can help, but they often are more like radio shows than conversations. Those are fun, but not quite what I am imagining right now. So what I am suggesting is just an idea.. not sure if others would like it....

I am a trained group facilitator and so this makes me brainstorm all kinds of possibilities. Like what if you could be a part of a smallish group that met every week, whether that was in DIscord or over Skype ...and it was semi-confidential, even? This is a longgggg comment so I will stop writing now! :) Thanks for your post, it really evoked a lot in me actually. Curious what you think of this!

Sort:  

Wow...this is a lot to think about. 😄

I’m winding down for the night but I’ll respond more deeply tomorrow. Glad you found me.

I’m torn about your idea as it relates to this platform. Perhaps I’m not clear about what it is you’re suggesting. I think support groups can be amazing. In general I believe independent, self employed people almost always need channels and outlets for connection and accountability.

So before I say much more, I’d like to better understand what you’re reaching towards here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47