You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Prepare yourselves!

in #steem7 years ago

It's an excellent buying opportunity! As you said, to give specifics is difficult, since no one really knows what the bottom is. The crypto space is still high risk, high return, but it's what's called an "unequal investment opportunity."

Unequal because you could lose 20, 30 or 50%, but the price on some of the coins can raise THOUSANDS of %. In the long run (5-10 years) many of the cryptos we're holding know will be worth unbelievable prices. Of course, some will fail.

And no worries that you have a "mixed" track record @xaero1. It seems like people are in agreement that technical analysis is "correct" only 60-65% of the time. It's still better than the random 50/50 split that you get if you don't study anything. At that point you're just gambling with your money.

TL;DR
HODL! BUY THE DIP!

Sort:  

Great comment! Thanks!

I think with steem I'm too emotionally attached it seems ;)...with everything else, I'd hope to be able to be a bit more objective. For example, I'm a mega-fan of ethereum, but I sold all I had of that, recently...just because that was my view based on the chart. Similar with bitcoin. Needed to do that, because as a trader, I would want to have as much funds as possible to buy back in when the charts suggest that to me.

But as for my steem power, and also some various ERC20 tokens i hold, I will just be hodling long term and not trading those :)

Haha! I'm also pretty emotionally invested in Steem... I love this platform. I'm excited that the official 1.0 launch will be coming, along with redesign of the logo, gamification to attract new users, and easy displays of voting strength and other stats (instead of using 3rd party sites.) Official apps for Android and Iphone will also be released.

That is a good move getting out of Ethereum and Bitcoin for the time being, imo. I'm waiting to see what happens through this whole segwit debacle and moved some of my holdings to LTC back when it was at $33. Also, I'm super curious to see what coin Coinbase lists next... because it will most likely spike. I hold small amounts of around 20 altcoins that I believe in.

If LTC rallies again, I'm considering swapping some of my holdings out for USD Tether... If I had done that when it went to $56 I could have definitely increased my holdings.

Do you use USD Tether much? I've never before but I've seen a lot of traders talking about it.

That's really interesting to hear that devopments are in the works such as you mention, esp. mobile apps!! I haven't been paying attention (in fact I don't even know where the best source of news is for steemit development?) - so, thanks for that info!

For me, I need a good deal of liquidity, and USDT just doesn't really have that. Also, if you check their website, their terms and conditions don't really guarantee much to the holder iirc! In some ways it is nicer not to have to have USD sitting on exchanges, but in other ways it has its own drawbacks (i.e. It's not really any more trustless).

ahhhh ok, that helps, i'm really not educated on USDT so i'll check it out!

Here is the 2017 roadmap for Steemit, STEEM, and Steemit, Inc.
(3 distinct entities that most people conflate with each other!)

https://steem.io/2017roadmap.pdf

I will admit I mostly read the Steemit part because it's what interests me the most, lol.

Cool, will give that a read. Thanks!

same same but different :D I am planning on buying around the 21... you?

hodld.JPG

The 21... of what? :)

Haha, you are completely right... slightly surprised when I saw it! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64884.95
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82