Feed Surfing...Adventures of a Steem Bum

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

As I came into this space I had no idea what to expect. I just noticed the odd mention of a new Steem based social platform in the troll box of Poloiniex. I am/was a hard core margin player there and spent most of my time searching for clear signals in the charts that indicated future movement. I have found something and have many screen shots of tokens across the market board...but that's for another more technical post for another time.

I'm not a huge FB fan although I have many friends and acquaintances on two accounts...One for family back home and another for general/mutual support. Both which I neglect terribly as do I my twitter and...dare I say it...lol I would but the name escapes me at the moment.

I came in with with stealth...or so I thought...but you know what thought did and I ended standing in my own Steaming Pile of Steemit. I received two honorable mentions on a couple of the local hit parades for undiscovered talent... truly a lift to my spirit

I even tried my hand as spotter of new incoming talent but hey MUXXY's got eyes everywhere...I need mine to read till they bleed. @gmuxx's is on to bigger and better things now...he's built a bot to help undiscovered minnows get more exposure. Check it out here

I spend way too much time here these days, like most new love affairs start out and I've had many great laughs, shed tears as well and have had my breath stolen from me a few times but what really astounded me the most while surfing my feed and ollie'n on over to other's feeds is the sheer weight of talent here...and brain power?...lets not and just say I had a thimble full of what them nerd/geeks/or whatever isn't insulting have going for them.

......and...I do babble on :-/...which makes the minimum 300 words for this challenge easy peasy for me...it's bringing in the comments that will get the best of me in the end I guess...but as teacher @merej99 has said...and I paraphrase...the exercise alone is reward enough and I did need a good kick in the butinsky to step offa the feed board and stop curating (resteeming) and get posting (becoming a paid assassin of the English language...I would never introduce myself as an author...I just don't sweat that much...yet ;)

Still looking forward to an epic ride on a whale...wonder if he/she/fitb would even feel me :-0

whale surfing.jpg
source

yeah...I #steembum ...maybe I'll start a series ~smiles fer miles~

Sort:  

As an author you made me crack the fuck. Keep the content flowing and will RIDE THAT WHALE and make it sing!

that is quite the compliment...thank you :)

It's hard not to get caught up in getting to the finish line for the external rewards. Don't get me wrong, it would definitely give me a boost! But as I watch my number of followers and posts and rep increase I see that there are here benefits to be gained that in the end could be far greater. I'm internally motivated to finish just to prove that I can! Good luck catching a ride on a whale!

~smiles~ I couldn't disagree with anything you've said here, including the luck in actually riding a whale.

I just put my 7th up, I was hoping to get 10 up but hey...we do the best we can with the tools at hand.

Thank you and good luck to you as well @thesimplelife

Thanks! I'm hoping to get my seventh up at some point today so I can just focus on reading and responding over the last leg of the race.

As am I hoping too...but I'm almost certain to fall short of the 500 mark. Still the exercise is in the doing...there will be other challenges to perhaps win.

All the best...love your name...beautiful song. ;)

Ha! Is it a song? I had no idea!

@thesimplelife

or if you prefer Ella Fitzgerald a bit too raucous for my taste though, I prefer the former. Don't get me wrong. I love Ella too and this is a live performance.

Just click on your name for the gentler version.

Hope you enjoy ~smiles~

Thanks for sharing those with me! I very much enjoyed the song. I am a huge fan of Ella, though!

If you like this article then click here to read more about the subject.

(Keywords: surfingadventures, undiscovered, whalewonder, weight, talent, words, came, feed, need, way, say)

If you like this article then click here to read more about the subject.

(Keywords: surfingadventures, undiscovered, whalewonder, weight, talent, words, start, feed, came, need, say)

When I started on Steemit, I was literally in my car stealing -- errrr -- borrowing wifi from the parking lots of Lowe's or Walmart. I read the whitepapers and fell in love with Steemit as I awaited my new account. What would I blog about? Did I want to be uppity and all professional? Was I going to share my fiction? Well, I can tell you, I call my steemit blog SPLATTER because I just throw stuff at the wall and see if it sticks.

Because of Steemit, I was pulled out of my comfort zone to start drawing again; I've landed a pretty sweet job, am learning about crypto, and have found my bliss. So this addiction to Steemit... I get it. Be open to these experiences and where people can take you. It could change you in unexpected and wonderful ways. :)

Hahaha SPLATTERis a tried and true method of discovery. When I read this I instantly thought of that artist (name escapes me) who poured buckets of paint into the exhaust from a jet engine onto large canvases. Talk about seeing what sticks. I'm sure he did quite well by himself with that one.

Yes, comfort zones are to be stepped out of from time to time I think. Gives one a fresh perspective of where they are.

Thank you for sharing! <3

I just saw on the letest @merej99's post that you are missing only 162 comments more to cross the finish line. I know you would maybe argue about that "only" in front 162, but if that might comfort you, I need over 100 more than you do.
So, I just wanted to say - Don't give up! 🙂 - There is still time to catch that goal. 😉

Thank you @ana-maria ~smiles~ you can do it! I won't give up...even if I don't make it. It's been a huge learning experience for me. Good luck!

Same here! Even if I don't make it... 😊
And good luck to you too! 🙂

Thanks...and what was that bandwidth thing...steem or service provider?

I'm not sure, but as I understand it seems that certain amount of bandwidth is allocated for every user. Something similar as voting power. And when you spend that amount you are not able to post until it refills again.
However, it was blocking me heavily yesterday when I tried to achieve those 500 comments goal. I checked on Steemd.com and saw I was over 90%. But very next comment I wanted to place (OK - it was a longer one) it didn't allow me. After few minutes when I finally succeeded went to check it there again. It was saying Out of Bandwidth and showing some -1 number. So, I had to wait again.
In the meantime, I think they change the way how it's displayed. Instead (as it was before) showing you how much you spend, now it's showing how much you still have. The same way as it displays the voting power.
You may check for yourself here ---> https://steemd.com/@cryptologyx

This is great information, thank you @ana-maria
Yeah that bandwidth wall was a beast for some of us. I think I may have not realized what gifs would do to my already depleted bw.

With this link I'll be better prepared next time...and so will you.

~smiles fer miles~

Ha, 🙂 I'm so glad if it would be of some help to you! 😄

Seems my bw has one back up to over 75% as I had been away almost 24 hours.
I really need to put some votes our today. Don't want to let those go to waste. ;)

Certainly not! 😉 🙃

Lol you thought you could toy with Steem but you've been capture. I get it. 🤣

It is a toy @karencarrens...at least to me. A game, that with practice I can always improve. Getting beat is the only way to learn how to win. Always play a game with someone who is just a little better than yourself. ;)

Yes. Your history with social med was close to mine. FB for keeping track of kids friends, and business networking friends. Twitter... my first tweet in 9 years to announce I was a Steemian on Steemit. This platform challenges us. In a great way. Kinda like playing chess in a way.

yes...an infinite number of levels chess

Steem on, friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29