You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Price of Steem - Where Do We Go From Here? Reflections by Charlie Shrem

in #steem8 years ago

In the ideal world...if I could just whip out my credit card and buy some SteemPower (on a really cool sales page with a video showing the benefits) then this thing would take off. I would put that video in the guiding tutorial that people go through after signing up. (dropbox style)

Sort:  

The issue with buying Bitcoin with credit card is fraud, but since Steem Power can't be powered down immediately removes the fraud issue. This is something to ponder!

but since Steem Power can't be powered down immediately removes the fraud issue.

No, it doesn't , unless there is also a way to "charge back" the purchased steem power once the credit card gets charged back.

Yes, a fraudster won't be able to immediately monetize by buying steem power then charging back and selling his illicitly purchased steem power for cash, he would still be able to get full value and use from it (as well as selling powered up accounts)...

I kind of looked into it, and Its doable if you had the right sort of merchant account and a pretty robust anti-fraud system.... but it would be risky as all get out because if someone figured out a way to game you, they could take you for quite a bit fairly quickly.

Great point. Is the fraud issue credit card related only, or is it the same if entering a routing number and checking account (like a Coinbase account)? I'd be really happy right now with a "USD bank account-to-Steem" method of purchasing, esp if accompanied by a debit card that let me spend from my Steem balance. I'd even agree to a waiting period required before being able to convert purchases of Steem back to USD in my bank account. I'm pretty confident Steemit Inc and the community will get this figured out, so I'm not even dealing with the exchanges at all any more (once was enough, too complicated for me and many others). I'm just waiting for the community to figure it out and post an ez-peasy link.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94