Sort:  

steem has a bigger community than dash, but dash has less available coins

That's what I was thinking, I'm not even sure the two can be compared because Dash has a limit for the supply. I love Steem too but I don't think it's a good idea to compare them like this because they are very different concepts.

It should be noted that the recent activity in Dash (pump to 100+) is more than likely unsustainable. There is talk in the cryptospace that there is market manipulation, specifically someone laundering coins through privacy coins creating that spike of transaction volume.

Anyone with other input is appreciated.

Lot of crypto holders, small (like me) and large were looking for a stable crypto that wouldn't be subject to so much speculation with all the news in cryptos. I moved all of my non-mist wallet Eth and all my non-vaulted BTC into Dash and am happy its $USD valuation is hanging pretty close to that $100. It is my personal hedge crypto.

I hope it continues to serve that purpose for you. :)

Mental note - don't buy Dash till further notice :D Thanks!

This is common in this space, marketing and speculative hype of upcoming features. And rest is networking effect...

The Dash community have dedicated money that is spent on educating and doing PR every month.

What does Steemit PR consist of? Should that be the priority?

Not sure right now. Ned has done a lot of speeches and such in the past. I know there has been efforts. But I think we could definitely learn from Dash and maybe emulate their PR concept by selecting representants, which are then paid either in accumulated money or with votes.

They created a tx processing model with Master Nodes that allows very quick txs even with their blocktime and still leaves room for those that prefer to mine Dash through ASICs using the X-11 algo. They have done much right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23