"STEEM WITNESS."

in #steem5 years ago

Leave any questions you have about steem witnesses, and you WILL receive an answer in the near future. You can also join the poll: How much do you know about "witness"?

If you have clicked on this post then you are either curious about witnesses or you are a witness or you are bored out of your mind.
Either way, I wholeheartedly welcome you all to the latest edition of "...for dummies, ....simply explained" series.

If you are a dumdum like me, you will need a dumdum explanation to many things that may be very easy for a lot of people to understand. As a fellow dumdum, I have taken some time from my not so very busy schedule to learn about witnesses. I am going to reproduce what I have learnt in the most simple way I can...that will be easy coz I learned it in the most simple way I could. We have come across the term "witness" very often, yet it doesn't make much sense to many. There is a lot of confusion as to what a witness is and what do they do etc etc. Disclaimer: I am not going to be very "techy".

Here goes:

Steem is run on servers, and a witness is a person who runs a steem server. These servers create blocks, from the word "block"chain. These blocks carry information and keep 'em safe.
They also do the STEEM/USD price thing, we won't get into that.

Steemit FAQ define's a witness as:

the network's block producers and governance body.

I prefer to look at them as guardian angels more than governance body...governance body sounds very harsh.

A witness must be able to run a safe, secure and durable "node", or a "witness node" to create or process blocks efficiently so as keep up everything timely and not to miss blocks. This is an expensive task, since it requires a lot of high tech equipment and electricity bills pile up.
The witnesses get compensated for their efforts in the form of Steem Power, proportionate to the blocks processed. The higher the number of blocks processed, the higher payout of SP. Sometimes, especially when starting out as a witness, the steem power earned from processing blocks and running a server is not enough to cover the expenses.
The number of blocks processed depends on their ranking as a witness.

Witnesses always give back to the community from the SP they earn or just because they care about the welfare of the platform.
Every witness has a different way of interacting with the community.

The most important thing to know about witnesses and ranking:


The top 20 witnesses must approve "hard forks" or decline them when the time arrives. Hard forks are radical changes and effects how the blockchain works.

This is why it is very important to know the witnesses, understand each witness, how and what do they do to contribute, how much do you agree with them and so on...AND VOTE FOR WITNESSES accordingly.

Remember, without witnesses the blockchain will not exist...nor will your rewards. The transactions witnesses carry out also carry your rewards. If you do not vote for the right witnesses, some evil masterminds can take over the top 20 witness spots and bring doom to this magical platform.

It is very important for us to choose our witnesses who have the right intentions for the platform and refuse any sort of hard fork that could be against our well-being.

This is not hard at all. Getting to know witnesses is easy. You can know them by their posts, actions or directly interacting with them. Witnesses are friendly and very often are more than happy to interact. I have personally interacted with @c0ff33a @enginewitty @jackmiller and they have been nothing less than friendly, nice and just plain awesome!
I love them!

Also, I found a quick overview of the witnesses @blockbrothers vote for and they have detailed their reasoning. Thanks to @brittandjosie for sharing the link with me.
This post may help you find some insight about few witnesses:
https://steemit.com/witness-category/@blockbrothers/blockbrothers-complete-witness-vote-list-januari-2019-two-upcoming-changes

Voting


Talking about @blockbrothers, you can also choose a proxy voter. In case you don't know who to vote for or do not want to vote for yourself, you can select a proxy user who votes for you. For example, if you trust and select @blockbrothers they will vote in your stead.

In any case, voting is easy.
You can vote for up to 30 witnesses. If you want to change your vote after you have already voted for 30 witnesses, you have to unvote someone first. The votes are free and cost you nothing. Quite the deal for maintaining the well-being of the blockchain I say!

You can check out a list of top 100 witnesses here: https://steemd.com/witnesses
A more statistical list, including all witnesses and a lot of details to look at: https://steemian.info/witnesses

In any case, voting is easy.
Vote here, just takes 1 click: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

For a dumdum like me, knowing this much is more than enough to realize the importance of witnesses and the importance of voting for witnesses. I feel like I have covered ample ground about what witnesses are and how are we, stakeholders involved. It's 3 a.m. here, and I'm going to sleep.

Leave your questions, remarks, criticism...any sort of comment if you feel like it.

That's one more blind spot from Blind's pot.

Thanks to @bdcommunity for their unrivalled support. Show them love!
Thanks to @welcomewagon & #steemterminal for taking the time to help newbies. Stop by and say hello!
@cranium is one of my most favs!

Sort:  

Great post. Now I know a little bit more about witnesses. 😉

My job here is done
flies away

This is truly amazing post my friend and one that I wish was around when I joined steemit back in 2017 😉 I was unaware of the importance of witnesses and what they did, how much work they do behind the curtain, the support and such.
Well written and I pass this on.
Have a wonderful weekend. Cheers! 🤗💕

Posted using Partiko Android

I am very glad that you found this post worthy! I am just a drop in the ocean, trying to cause a ripple to create a wave.
This is true, it took me a long time to understand their importance, too!
Thank you.
And have an excellent weekend yourself :D

Throw it back at ya my man, you are turning into a great Steempeep out here and glad to have met you!

As am I to have met you

Congratulations @blind-spot! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.
You made more than 600 comments. Your next target is to reach 700 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Voting for dummies! WOW Thats a great article. I and Thank you for mentioning me ,I did not See that one coming. The fact that you took the effort to shine your light on the witnesses on the steemisfere is great. We take that very seriously !!
I Will resteem for more exposure.
Good luck friend and to speaking in @enginewitty s Words from a comment below here : you are turning into a great steempeep, rocking the steemisfere !
Go and have a great Sunday,
Gr. Britt

Thank you Britt! I am trying my best :)

You are succeeding My friend the steemian, glad to be by your side, dont forget me When you are famous !😉

Great to know I am not the only dummy around. Did I miss where to find which witnesses I did vote so far?

Posted using Partiko Android

You can check it on the same list where you vote from

Well, its really great explanation about witness. Resteem. :D

Thank you, I hope it was informative

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got an awesome upgoat, thanks to @blind-spot
BuildTeam wishes everyone a bullish new Year!
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Hi @blind-spot, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity and the trail!

If you want to support us, please consider following our curation trail on Steemauto.com or delegating STEEM POWER to us.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Great post @blind-spot!!! There can never be enough info out there about how important it is to understand witnesses!!!

And it's one of those things that takes time to "get".. the first time people hear about them, they're like oh ok! Wait. What? LOLOLOLOL

Nice job! Keep spreading the good word :)

I remember during the WW training I was like yeah I understand what witnesses are....and then I was like nah I dont know what they are LOL

Thank you!
and thank you for stopping by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77