[ANN] test.bitcoiner.me - My Personal Steemit.com Test Clone Sandbox

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

A public clone of the Steemit.com site to make it easier to demo and test new changes with others!

test.bitcoiner.me

I had spent some time learning about the various technologies behind the steemit.com codebase.

I thought it would be a great idea to set up a public instance of it under my domain so others may play around with any new things I add on it.

This way, I can get feedback before I try to have them integrated into the official site.


bitcoiner.me

This is my personal domain that lists connection details to my public seed node I run, as well as a live test to it.

It also has links to the test site, my steemit account, and my witness posts. I will keep this site updated.

Please see my witness thread and witness update #1 for more information!

Here is what it looks like, notice the live node test highlights on a new block..


A few changes so far

I have made some changes on the test site, going through some of the easier ones from @timcliff's The Steemit Wish List - Avatars, Notifications, Multi-Language Support, and More - Oh, My! (v2.0)

'Create a Post' instead of 'Submit a Story'

This might make more sense as the terminology is more consistent.

User Profile with additional line with Joined

I'm thinking of adopting @fabien's Steem Script: An Open JSON Standard for Trusted Workflows [Proposal] to pull in more details that the user may have set.

There can be a new tab page listing the various things from the user's json_metadata and a way to edit them. Also, the additional line on the header can include the user's about description which links to this new tab page.

Numbered lists with visible double digit

Various title fixes

@ash had talked about one instance in Steemit Bug: Fix Feed Ttitle. I've fixed a few more pages for consistency and better indexing on search engines.


Remember that these are just screenshots, but you can actually go and play around with the site and view these changes live!

bitcoiner.me

Feel free to leave any feedback you have on my changes so far as a comment below. Suggestions and other things are good too.



Like my work?

Please vote for me as witness, every vote is important to me!

And Follow me! @bitcoiner

Sort:  

Nice work - a testing environment is vital to really vet changes. And "Create a Post" does seem more fitting.

Thanks! Yes, I am focusing more dev work on the steemit.com frontend as this is what most users engage with. My testing environment will hopefully help out.

Great work.
I knew you were cooking up something interesting.

Haha, gotta keep busy!

This is great. I might have a request for you :) It is about text input field (post, comment, ...) which is acting strangely when you are using tools like Grammarly Chrome plugin...

Hmm, what kind of strangeness? I'll have to investigate more.

With Grammarly active:

  1. you type the text and make a typo
  2. Grammarly underlines your typo
  3. you hover over the word in question with the mouse and Grammarly pops up the correction
  4. you click on a suggested correct word which gets fixed in the text area field
  5. when you continue the typing the corrected word is automagically reverted back to its previous content

It looks like some javascript is constantly checking the state of the field and fixing it. Wrongly, in this case :)

Anyways, there must be something going on in the background when you type -> live post preview bellow the text area ...

I see what you mean now! It does seem that the page is keeping track of the inputted text in an internal state. My guess is that it assumes the only changes happen when there is a key event, and not expecting that an external factor will change the text. I'll have to look more into this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28