You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Understanding Steem's Economic Flaw, Its Effects on the Network, and How to Fix It.

in #steem5 years ago

@kevinwong, @trafalgar, @sorin.cristescu, @valued-customer, and... all of you really: how can I participate in this ongoing debate, as the above post is already nearly a month old? @igster, I like your idea of supporting only those witnesses who involve themselves in taking substantive action (of some kind - for me it doesn't have to be exactly as proposed here, as long as it's a genuine attempt to address the issues rather than just letting them lie), and would happily do the same. How do we organize? Is there a discord channel for this? Has there been movement of any kind in the past several weeks?

As someone who is primarily a content creator and also a supporter of what I see as genuinely interesting content on this platform (and there is a lot of it), I have yet to really get involved in debates about the structure of the platform itself. But I very much enjoyed reading this discussion and can see the potential ramifications for me and my community. Like many on Steemit, I've struggled to earn rewards for content that I put a lot of time into. As grateful as I am for the amazing work that they do, @curie can't upvote me, or my peers, often enough to provide a real financial incentive to keep us on the platform. Neither can any of the other curation initiatives (and again, I feel so grateful for the excellent work that all of you are doing). For those of us who are still here, the process of creating and interacting with others must in some way be a reward in and of itself, as @valued-customer points out, otherwise we wouldn't be here. But it would be SO much more fun if the rewards system favored genuinely interesting content, because then I (and many of the Steemians I interact with) would potentially be able to support each other to earn levels of income here that might allow us to invest more time into our own work and into interacting with others. In other words: to invest more time into the platform.

If content is really the currency of the Steem blockchain, then content should be rewarded. As it stands now, most of the rewards seem to go to investors of money, rather than investors of time, effort, and talent. This seems backwards to me.

So thank you so much for this discussion, and thank you @kevinwong for initiating it, it was a very interesting post to read, and the comments thread as well.

My question is: how can I help?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16